We All Stand on The Shoulders of Giants: An Insight on The 7th Steemit Meetup in Cebu

in #promo-steem7 years ago (edited)

Core leaders.jpg Information sharing, picture taking, online friends meeting face-to-face - what went on in the 7th Steemit Meetup


A wise teacher once told me that "Insights set better when they're allowed enough time to bake." It's been two days since the 7th Steemit meetup in Cebu and a lot of people have been posting about what went on with the meetup, and I'm about to do the same. However, it will be on a realization that I've spent a good two days pondering on.

Steemit won't be what it is today without the bright minds that started with an idea. I vaguely remember someone who said that until Steemit was launched, no one thought that another social media platform could rival or even topple over Facebook. Whether or not they wanted to rival the social media giant is debatable, but the fact remains that people should be rewarded for the content they worked so hard on.

The developers surely didn't stop at the idea, they tapped other people bigger than they are. Bigger here means richer, more influential, and possibly, even smarter than they were at that time. The rich could've given them the funding that they needed to further develop their work. The more influential could've spread the news like wildfire. The smarter ones could've figured out the loopholes to the algorithms the initial developers weren't able to solve.

In my opinion, all of these great things achieved by the primary movers would be all for naught, were it not for the existing users - billions of Steemians who believe in the platform and in themselves. That no matter how much people shed doubt on cryptocurrency, on this platform; the prime movers wouldn't be experiencing this great success if not for the Steemians who continue to contribute value to the platform - me, you, all of us.

"We all stand on the shoulders of giants, give them the credit they deserve."

I forgot where I read this passage from, but know that these aren't my words. Also know that I got to this point of my journey because of the people that have helped pave the way for me. I'm here to thank all of the giants who allowed for me to stand on their shoulders.

The giants cover photo.jpg This photo doesn't even account for half of the Steemians that were present

The Giant 1: Steemph.cebu

It doesn't take a genius to know that it's not easy to gather people coming from different backgrounds and interests in one venue. The 7th Steemit meetup in Marisse Patisserie was the second Cebu meetup that I've attended, and it also doesn't take a list to know that there were more of us this time. Well, I exaggerate, I need to take a look at that list first! The point I'm making here is that one of the greatest, if not THE greatest, outcome that Steemit has brought forth is the formation of communities in real life. While we were all driven by the same desire to make it big on this platform, but the force to connect is so real that it can't be avoided. What's even more impressive is the fact that a lot of passions have been realized here in the community. I was, and still am, in awe of the diversity that Steemit has initiated. Here were some of the passions that were featured in the meetup:

Financial Literacy
spearheaded by @namranna, @smaeunabs, and @jcvertucio

Financial literacy camp.jpg This team generously shared their financial knowledge to interested particpants


Beatbox Community
spearheaded by @jaderpogi

Beatbox camp.jpgThe team shared their skills at the start of the event


Curie Content Making
spearheaded by @ybanezkim26 and a testimonial by yours truly, @thegaillery

Kim the giant.jpgKim didn't want for his face to be featured, but I dare say that his greatness deserves to be known


Speaking about getting curied.jpg photo is from: @honeyletsgo. I also shared what I know about creating Curie-worthy content


With honey.jpg @honeyletsgo got her first Curie post that day!


Leadership
present core leaders: @jassennessaj, @itinerantph, @tegoshei, @ninyea, @fernwehninja, @themanualbot and @bellatravelph

Jassen speaking.jpg photo from: @honeyetsgo. @jassenessaj speaking about Steemit's technicalities to newbie Steemians

The Giants 2 & 3: @ybanezkim26 and @legendarryll

I will never get tired of thanking these people who made my joining here on Steemit possible. These two are legends in their own fields. They have made names for themselves here on the platform and I couldn't help but feel proud for them. I feel kind of honored that they believed in me from the very start. I hope I won't let you down.

The Giants 4 & 5: @themanualbot and @babybear

These two are among the very first Steemians here in Cebu. Erika told me that it was hard for them to earn even cents before. Her words were, "Kung maguol mo na gamay ra ang ma-earn sa inyong posts ron, unsa na kaha to amo sauna." To think that Cebuano Steemians now are earning 100x more (assuming they earned SBD 1.00 then) than they were made me think. One reason why this may be happening now is because of the amount of support that we've been given. Roger is one of the strong pillars of the community. He directly communicates with international Steemians to support Cebuanos. These two are grounded on their principles of cooperation and mutualism. Thank you to you both!

Roger and Erika the giants.jpgThis isn't a flattering photo of you two, but you two deserve to be featured

The Noteworthy Giants: Working Steemians

I am beyond lucky to be a part of this core group that supports each other to the best of each of our abilities. May we always bring each other up and treat each other when our wallets are full of SBDs. Shoutout to@wandergirl, @brokemancode, @jsmalila, @honeyletsgo, @jeebee0331, @iamyourshyness, @thisisruby, @xaydtrips, @reewritesthings, @asasikulot, @jocephil, @baijess, @zyrawr, John Alex Adra, Angie Tampus, @faithvarron and @hunterx3.

The Steemians I haven't met yet

Yes, that's right. I'm talking to you. We may have bumped into each other in the meetup or you may have stumbled on one of my posts. Like @ybanezkim26, I won't ask for you to follow me, I will earn the right to be followed by you. With this, I will make it a priority to make quality posts and comments on my blog and yours, respectively. I know that socializing isn't my strongest suit, but I guarantee that once you get to know me and I, you, we may witness a great friendship as it unfolds.

Steemians 1.jpgHoping to get to know more of you pretty soon


Feeling grateful to those who came before me and hopeful for those who came after,
@thegaillery

Marisse Patisserie.jpg Adieu Marisse Patisserie, where will you take us next, Steemit?

Sort:  

@thegaillery, thank you so much for being so sweet and accomodating on that day. I really admire you all. The way you write is really “makasuya” hahaha! How to be you po? Hehe! See you soon :)

@thisisruby it was nice seeing you too! I know I'm not the best writer here, but when I can, I try to learn new words from every English media I enjoy. Find the method that works for you! By then, ako mangutana na sad ko nimo ug "How to be you po, Ms. Ruby?"

You are talented jud ay! That’s given! Hehe! I’m actually learning along the way coz I’m preparing for a curie worth post. Haha. Mayta!

just like a fair of all steemean

Yep, it was packed with learning too!

You deserve to be curied you write so well. Hahaha, naa kos picture. Yehey!

Thank you for your kind words, @christianyocte! Since naa ka sa picture, so naminaw jud ka. Sure ko ma-Curie na pud ka puhon! Will watch out for that :)

Mayta. Pero morag madugay dugayan pa. Hahha. Dili gani ka 1 $ akong mga post. Hahah pero fighting kay di ra man sa kwarta ni about. :)

With that attitude @christianyocte, I have a feeling na mu-succeed jud ka diri. Just keep at it! 😁

Wasnt at the time you lectured but I bet I would have learned a lot as well. Its really great that you have found an amazing bunch of people who are there to be your safety net. Best of luck on your next writeups ate

I agree that it's great to have them, Aaron. But I wouldn't call them my safety net. Hahaha, if I did, that would mean I needed saving. Thank you, to you too! Would love to catch up with you pud sa next meetup.

Woooow! You really write so well @thegaillery! I've been reading your blogs, too ever since you shared it in facebook. You really deserved to be listened to when it comes to quality content. How I wish I could have listened to your sharing also during the meetup. ❤️

Thank you @namranna! May gani nakaabot sad ko sa imong lecture about financial planning. Amazing kaayo inyong advocacy! Amazing pa jud pagka-deliver nimo :)

Salamat Abby, motuo gyud ko basta ikaw moingun. Kbw ko, pareha rata-- financial advocate. Sayanga wa ko kapaminaw sa imong part, daghan kay mu ddto sa sulod 🙌🏻

awww! Thank you for the mention @thegaillery! Nice meeting all of you, especially the guys from Working Steemians :D

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

I think I remember exchanging smiles with you, I wasn't sure who to talk to and I felt bad I couldn't get to the meet up in time and was tasked to take photos when I arrived. Won't miss it the next time, for sure! xx

Yeah! You were ordering a brownie then, @pizzanniza :) It was nice exchanging smiles with you! Haha

Napawng gyud kog kadali abi kog artista hahahahaha We weren't able to talk a lot during the meetup bec of our respective talks but know that I feel so honored to finally meet you in person <3 The confidence in you is enchantingly overflowing gyud <3 please spare some for us hahahaha

I badly wanted to listen to you and @ybanezkim26's talks but to no avail. Hopeful gihapon ko nga maka dungog sa inyong discussions next meetup. See you again soonest Abby :D

The honor's all mine, Sheila. Mag-schedule ta ninyo puhon ni @namranna about aning Financial Literacy advocacy ninyo. Naa pa mo'y room for one more person sa inyong group? Nangita ko'g like-minded individuals na makauban nako ani akong journey to financial freedom. I think na mas dali ni siya makab-ot if naa ka'y solid na group na mu-push sa each member na mahimong best. :) Looking forward to your response, @smaeunabs!

Yaaaaaay we are very open sa kung kinsa ang ganahan gyud. We don't really consider ourselves as members of a financial team. We just tend to share whatever knowledge we have with each other, then we use that shared knowledge and experiences to influence others to do the same.

Hopefully magkakita2 ta ninyo together pud nila @ybanezkim26 and @josejirafa kay interested pud kaayo to sila :D We are very much excited to share this financial journey with you all :D

Ganahan kaayo ko ana na idea, @smaeunabs! When man kaha ni siya pwede mahitabo? Ako sad kuyugon among kabatch pud ni @namranna na si @jsmalila :)

Halaaa nice ni da. available raka sundays? ask nako @namranna if when siya available :D

Sure, one chat away ra ko!

Thank you @thegaillery! Like you, I'm really proud of our team. I'm happy to see you and @ybanezkim26 share your knowledge with other Steemians. I hope I can join you guys someday.

A lot of people were looking forward to meeting you, @legendarryll! I hope so too 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60608.46
ETH 2637.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62