I TRIED TELLING SOMEONE TO JOIN STEEM; YOU WON'T BELIEVE THE KIND OF RESPONSE I GOT!!!

in #promo-steem6 years ago

Source

Incase you don't know, Steemit is the new gospel while cryptocurrency is it's Bible!
But How do you tell someone to follow your new religion when you've barely finished chapter one of the Cryptocurrency Bible.
To quote a verse in that Bible "it is far easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than for a fish head(in this case, me) who barely knows anything about Cryptocurrency to convince another fish head to join steemit.
Such Was my predicament On Saturday when I tried Publishing a post on steemit.

The thing is 

I Had spend more than 4 hours in a cyber cafe drafting what I thought would be the perfect post ever.(incase you missed it, here's the link) As a matter of fact, I was so sure I would become a Millionaire from that single post. 

The Unbeliever must have noticed my enthusiasm or the look of frustration in my eyes;

Below Is the transcript of our conversation:

Unbeliever:  What are you writing! 

NewConvert: I am writing an article on black panther.

Unbeliever: Oh!  I heard the movie is very interesting. Have you watched it. 

NewConvert: No!

At this point I was hoping the god of Cryptocurrency Would shut his mouth. Why is someone trying to distract me from my million Naira post. 

Unbeliever: Why are you writing about a movie you've not watched?

NewConvert: ehm! Ehm!  It's a blog post so just want to write it. 

Unbeliever: Is it your website!

I was almost tempted to say yes! I mean who wouldn't want to claim ownership of steemit even if it's in your fantasy. But it is written, "thou shall not lie"

NewConvert: No it's not my website,, but it's my blog. 

Unbeliever: how can you have a blog on a website that's not yours? 

I had to log out to fully answer his question and also to save my time. I wore my Crypto-pastor suit. Little did I Know I was about to enter a battle I would not win! 

NewConvert: Ok, the website is steemit. It let's you own a blog where you can earn from your posts 

Unbeliever: so it's like Adsense!?

NewConvert: no, it's better than Adsense.

Unbeliever: How?

I Thought of @jeaniepearl at this moment and I tried to remember how she convinced me to join steemit. Needless to say and as You must have already guessed, I did a terrible job! 

NewConvert: With steemit you can begin to earn almost immediately (I noticed the error in this sentence too late). When you post, people Upvote you so you Earn from their Upvotes. You earn in sbd and Steem 

Unbeliever: what's sbd and Steem?

NewConvert: they are crypto currency like bitcoin. 

Unbeliever: Hope say no be all this 419 thing (meaning; hope It's not scam)

NewConvert: No o.

source

There is this hunger to defend steemit with all your life that I can't just explain. So it's no surprise that even though I knew half of the things I'll be saying would be utter bullshit, I still explained to him with an enthusiasm I never knew I had!

After I was Done explaining;

Unbeliever: interesting, so someone can truly earn money from this! Ok, how much have you earned so far. 

NewConvert: Ehm, ehm, nothing yet (another mistake) but with time I ll begin to earn as much. By the way its also about doing what you love to do!

Unbeliever: OK!!! 


Ok?  Ok?  "What the hell is ok!" I thought to myself.  I expect you to be excited about this already. But in a nation where half it's youth are into cybercrime and the adult ones are employing different species of animals to swallow billions of naira on their behalf, it's no surprise that get rich quick schemes are the Order of the day! 

Not one to give up a fight especially when it's about steemit, 

I decided to show him accounts of people who have earned from steemit. @eurogee @greenrun @fisteganos where the accounts I visited. 

That kinda did the job but;

Unbeliever: how then do I get my money, PayPal? 

NewConvert: since its Cryptocurrency, you don't get your money via paypal. You sell them! Reason is Cryptocurrency is about been in charge of your money! It's decentralized. (a concept I do not even fully grasp myself)

Unbeliever : who would buy it, where do they sell it. Sbd you said? Please who would buy a currency they can't see for 1700naira(the conversion rate of 1sbd to naira) and why. 

This Was where I totally lost it! I had no good answer. Been a newbie myself I'm yet to get to that point where I need to sell sbd, might take a while even! So I froze. Luckily for me before my ignorance could be noticed, I was told I needed to continue browsing or vacate the seat. 

I heaved a sigh of relief, said a little prayer to the god of Crypto and the cherubims and seraphims of steemit. We said our goodbyes but not without collecting his phone number. No way I'd give up on my potential first convert.


This might not be a success story but I'm hoping it would turn out to be a good testimony. 

So if you have a better answer to the questions below, kindly answer in the comment box. 

1. What does decentralization in the crypto world really mean. 

2. Would it ever be possible to collect our sbd earnings via PayPal directly into our bank account,if no,  why? 

3. Really, why do people trade in Cryptocurrency as a whole. What's the motivational factor?


Thank You!


I Dabble in Poetry, graphics design and scaring little children, if you like me, follow me. If you don't, follow me. 

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/ZvYF9T7

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62705.03
ETH 3101.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82