Promoting Steem to Gift in Kind Foundation| Our first step to modern fund raising

in #promo-steem7 years ago (edited)

We had our annual dinner in our chairperson's house as we have done so many times. It was a great way for us to catch up and tell each other how fat or thin each other since we last saw each other. As much as Facebook is a great way to keep connected nothing beats face to face communication and laughter. I was also thankful I wasn't the photographer this time so I would be in the pictures now.

A lot of the core members were in the province and in the US so using the power of Skype we were able to to have a video group call. The power of Technology is truly outstanding.

First order of business was the Financial Statement Report. A breakdown of all expenditures of last year including for the Christmas goodies and gifts given to the community last December and first time in 11 years having a surplus budget were it will be used for expenditures of the next batch of Grade 6 students of Banawen Elementary school graduating and going to highschool.

Just to provide a recap four years ago we decided to adopt Banawen Elementary school. This is the primary school for children of an indigenous tribe called Aetas. Prior to our adoption most students would only reach until Grade 2 or 3 as education takes a backseat to surviving.

image.png

This is a place where living is hard. The eruption of Mount Pinatubo on the year of 1997 displaced the Aetas from their ancestral lands and into different places. It is funny that legally the indigenous people like Aetas are protected but are given no budget and hardly any assistance in livelihood.

In the place called Banawen they try to toil under the sun on arid and rocky soil planting rice and root crops in order to feed themselves or barter for goods down in the mainland. They forage the forests for wild life and fruits but often than not come home empty handed.

Recess in most schools would have kids running around playing and then eating their snack of sandwiches, cupcake or chips. Even some public schools in the main cities would have feeding programs funded by the local governments.

In Banawen the kids would play tag, climb trees, sing and dance like other children but there is a certain hunger in their eyes. It can be seen in their diminutive size, their ribbed cages and their cracked skin. They would suck on a calamansi fruit if it can be found.

image.png

The school was built last January 2007 and it was 2016 when they finally had someone graduate and go to highschool.

If you want to learn more about Banawen Primary school I have three posts:
Gift in Kind Foundation: More than a decade of sharing our blessings
Sitio Banawen a community of Aetas: A story of Hope
Christmas in Banawen Zambales: Sharing your blessings

The next important thing discussed was fundraising and collection drives. We have a couple of companies that have started supporting us by donating money, volunteers and even medicines. This has been a big help and admittedly we still fall short most years but we still manage. We will be doing a fund raiser this year with selling shirts and I will run a contest for that.

image.png

Source

Next stop was Steemit. I discussed what I do in Steemit. The concept of the gifteconomy. We also talked how to create an account, the different tabs and most importantly the wallet and Steem Economy. The concept of the 75/25 author and curation rewards was a bit overwhelming for them.

I showed them previous projects and charity works initiated by different communities. I showed them how some whales and dolphins would support these initiatives and give a lot of exposure. To make it simpler I used the final SBD amount redeemed for a post and multiplied by the rate of SBD at that time. I saw jaws drop.

We have never tried to crowdfund online before. Even if we use social media it would be really limited to our circle. The mere thought of using Steemit to promote this cause and actually receive donations astounded them. I wouldn't say that most of them are not tech savvy but the idea of a gifteconomy is such an alien concept for them. If we get a big whale or dolphin to support it will be so great if not as we always have done we will still go on.

We talked about providing more things for the school. New furniture, repaint the whole thing, get some playground sets for the kids to enjoy. Facilitate a Medical and Dental mission in cooperation with @steemitfamilyph who are mostly dentists and will be part of the charity activities of the group.

Maybe in the future get them satellite internet and computer equipment or tablets. Sigh people can dream right?

saber border.JPG

What's the plan?

  1. Set up a Gift in Kind Foundation account so access can be shared between the core members especially if Social Media Manager is busy or indisposed.

  2. Conduct a 2nd more in-depth training schedule when all the core members are back in the Philippines.

  3. Coordinate with Banawen Elementary School Principal on getting additional materials for articles. Set up questionnaires and do several pieces of Humans of Banawen series.

  4. Coordinate with @steemitfamilyph if they will be able to do the Medical and Dental Mission this year or would be for another time.

  5. Ask assistance from @promo-mentors for added exposure if possible. If not Ohana will take of it.

  6. Core team will create their own personal accounts to further help the main account and enjoy Steemit as well.

  7. Rearrange Facebook Admins and postings to reflect content from the main account.

  8. Do twice a month meetings over Skype for any changes in plans and updates will be posted in the closed group in Facebook and Googledocs for easy tracking of project.

I ended my part really happy and we were so excited to be embarking on this first step into the realm of digital crowdfunding. We were taking the first step to a bigger role not only for the school but maybe even for Banawen itself. This could be a source of seed money for a livelihood program for them. The aim here is to get the people of Banawen self-sufficient and have pride in themselves.

No meeting of ours would be complete without eating and so with smiles on our faces we attacked the food with much gusto. As usual our gracious chairperson prepared food for 30 people again hahha.

27164452_10215988550173610_3617466533281146313_o.jpg

It was raining a bit so a hotpot was definitely something that we wanted.

26992396_10215997663521438_3203621907967623308_n.jpg

27331947_10215997663161429_7517176955896792294_n.jpg

After dinner we had a couple bottles of wines and cheese as we talked about the many adventures and misadventures we had in over a decade of helping people. Who would have thought that we would be able to do this and continue to share our blessing.

I hope that Steemit will share in this endeavor. From Gift in Kind Foundation we thank you.

All SBDs earn from posts about Gift in Kind and Banawen will be donated to all initiatives of the Foundation.

27022062_10215988554493718_278536689798255020_o.jpg

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

Crypto empire Mav.png

Sort:  

thank you for bringing this initiative to my attention. brilliant, i had no idea, i guess what you are doing is getting better and more people are now seeing it. congrats!

Thank you so much for checking our initiative we plan to have a separate account for the program to make sure that we have transparency and accountability on all donations that receive.
We are ready to take it to the next step and have a stable gifteconomy program that we wish to turn over to the Aeta's somewhere down the road so that they'll have an opportunity.

nice, yeah that's often the hard bit right? to get people to carry it on with the same determination.

We almost stopped about 5 years ago when most of the members got married and had kids but there were still some that went on and i am amazed that people would always volunteer last minute so we turn out ok.

Hopefully with this initiative the kids we have now in highschool will be able to create accounts and manage the advocacy in the future so that they can be self reliant and not just wait for non existent government budgets or the sporadic NGO.
Unfortunately their plight is not a single case and if we prove to be successful with then we can expand more communities.

not just wait for non existent government budgets or the sporadic NGO

a huge problem, seems like you've done a lot of the legwork, keep fighting the good fight and hopefully some of your work will be adopted globally like the other people in similar positions. keep it up. your doing sterling work.

After hosting my own fundraising initiative last week, I'm learning to appreciate the ways that STEEM may impact communities around the world more than ever before. Thank you for sharing about your efforts with the schools. It's interesting to see how people react to how much money can be raised on Steemit, and I'm still reeling over the response I've received to my efforts.

I hope to be able to support this initiative going forward, so I hope you'll continue to share these posts with us over at @thesteemengine. We're glad to have you in our community.

I was blown away by your post and the projects of your wife. I am glad to have joined the group and found you there.

I hope to be able to make use of Steemit as a way to be able to provide sustainable donations for the Aeta Community of Banawen.
They really have no means of making things better for themselves not have support from the government but we wanted to do something for them.

I hope that you never tire from supporting these kinds of projects.

I like to see projects like this. It's incredible that I can support initiatives around the world by simply voting on a post here. I'm glad you shared this blog, and I look forward to reading more in the future. I'm so glad I can help.

It's a nice idea to use Steemit to help them to the point where they are self-sufficient. I wish you every success.

It'd be great to zoom in a bit -- get real people stories from the community. Show us who they are, what they do, what their dreams are. I think that way you'll get greater engagement.

Best wishes
Anj x

Thanks Anj yes planning to do a whole lot of Humans of Banawen series but will put it on the main account that I created for the Aeta Community.

What a fantastic article, @maverickinvictus! I do hope that you will continue to use Steemit to crowdfund your operations and ministry with the kids there. Hopefully, with more regular publishing and exposure you will gain the additional funds you need to make a lasting difference in that community.

Do you have the ability to make weekly update articles that get deeper into the lives of the kids and the school projects? What about creating a sponsorship program for each of the kids, and rotate them through a daily article about what's happening in the community and at school? Who doesn't like to see the projects kids are working on? Even photos of their work pages, etc. would be fun to see. I think if you were to develop a Steemit presence that published a daily community report you would see a steady growth of support for the activities you are doing there. The possibilities are limitless!

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 29 JAN 2018. I'm following you now, too, and am looking forward to hearing more about this effort.

Cheers!

Thank you so much for featuring me. Any kind of way to extend the reach of this post will be very much appreciated!

Yes we have a plan of doing weekly articles that want to show their life and hopefully how Steemit will change their lives for the better.

Long term plan is for them to become self sufficient and saving in the block chain all their stories, traditions, songs, folklore.

We also want to create livelihood programs for them.

You've got great plans, @maverickinvictus! I will do my best to feature your progress as often as possible. Keep me in the loop!
Cheers!

How lovely this post is, I truly loved it Mave!
I love the photos, the formatting and writing, the children just made me want to hug them all. I especially loved the photos of the food! The group photo just touched my heart and I really enjoyed that you put the entire plan in this blog. Thank you for so much detail! xx

Awww thanks for loving it! When you see the kids you heart will just break and want to give whatever you have in hand.

We have so much things that we want to do for them.

I felt that right away!

You still don't know me for enough time to realize this, but my 100% vote, although it isn't still much, is very rare... I rarely give it out.

I gave it to you after the first minute of reading.

Wonderful job!

It really means a lot to me hearing from one person that I deeply respect in this Platform to say this to me.
Thank you!

This is what I love in Steemit, the good deeds outside the community, not to brag , I have been doing something like this, one with my sister and her friends and the other one is from my former work (NCMH) though I was not able and can't post it like this because I stick to the rules of the agency to protect our patients' identity. I hope in the near future I can use my Steemit cashout for this.Keep it up @maverickinvictus.

Yeah all pictures are with consent and has even been sent to Germany and France for the Corporate Social Responsibility projects of companies that help us.
Hopefully you can in the future.

you are such a good person with a super big heart!! may God give you more than what you have shared. God bless!

Thank you Dee :) I hope to be able to do this for the community.

Respect💪

I appreciate the upVote and will be used for Banawen activities.

wow ! you are really kind and generous person. I hope for the success of the plan. God will reward you someday @maverickinvictus

Haha I hope he reward me now so that I can help these children haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66