Promoting Steemit to a Soulful Writer and a Person with Depth | Welcoming @brewingstories

in #promo-steem7 years ago (edited)

27497934_10210623255688674_1674043724_n.jpg
Obligatory Selfie with @brewingstories at a local shop in Cebu after I was explained to her the essence of the platform.

Good day Steemians! Help me welcome my first recruit in Steemit, @brewingstories. I believe she will be of prime value in the platform with the depth of her thoughts and the stories she can tell. I will allow her to speak for herself in her #introduceyourself post which you can click here. Hope you guys help me give her a resounding welcome.

27495927_10210623254808652_1346714259_n.jpg
Tom N Toms: The Venue of our Steemit Talk and Promotion

It was a coincidence being here at this place where her account got accepted in Steemit. Me and my classmates agreed to meet at the place for academic purposes as we had a lot of requirements to comply for our Graduation Rites #gradwaiting. I personally suggested the venue as I found the ambience very suitable for my senses. The place was so chilly but cozy enough if you wear a sweater on. The place is located adjacent to the SM City Cebu Mall, at Juan Luna Extension, North Reclamation Area, Cebu. It's not really far from home and school so it was a perfect place for us to do schoolwork.

27497795_10210623255608672_883556598_n.jpg
A lot of people were in the Café. The place was very cozy

They have really great facilities there. The Wifi connectivity is exceptional and without limitation as to the number of hours of usage or to the number of devices connecting (although they did cut off our connection around 11pm. Not sure if this was intentional or not). The place was big enough for my thoughts to wander with enough seats and places to choose from. They had enough charging outlets for electronic devices and you can bring your own extension wire or outlet if you want. I could see that most of the customers were bringing their laptops and mobile devices. There were also a number of students around our age group.

27583576_10210623255168661_251090692_n.jpg
This is her and my classmate working on their requirements

Basically, we were doing our own business. I was busy making a case study for my patient. My classmate, @brewingstories was researching about her patient's case as well. We were at the cafe from 6pm and heavily working our butt off since then. Sometimes each one of us would take short breaks from our work by going outside, using our phones, chatting, snacking or simply taking our eyes off the screen. Luckily enough, @brewingstories checked her email while she was on a short break only to see that her account in Steemit was approved!

27495845_10210623254848653_980831826_n.jpg
@brewingstories' inbox showing an email from Steemit, informing her approval in the platform

It was such a coincidence to receive her account confirmation at a time where both of us where together. I have already talked to her about my "blogging" while we were on hospital duties. I told her about Steemit and how it has helped me with financial aspects since she was looking for a means to get additional income. Knowing her to have her personal blog in Tumblr, I asked if she was willing to join the wonderful community of Steemit. She was skeptic at first so I further explained the platform.

I told her about Smart Media Tokens and how Steem is one of them, which runs the entire platform. I informed her about @ned and the concept of cryptocurrency, blockchains and decentralization. It was a long talk as I was trying to explain it to her in the simplest way that I can. I first bombarded her with terminologies which she eagerly investigated and digested slowly. It was a long talk but she did not make it difficult for me. I am pretty sure she understood the basics of market value, trading and the rewards pool. I told her to just ask if she had any questions and she most certainly did. This was a talk we had days ago. I didn't expect her to sign up at that instant

27400174_10210623255528670_1986077055_n.jpg
She is reading intently about the FAQs of the platform while thinking of a great username. Notice also the laptop HAHA. My laptop which I named Steem already made its first recruit

I was just shocked when she informed me that her account was approved. I remember the time when mine was accepted, I was so excited! I immediately reiterated to her a few concepts we had already discussed. She even told me to stop as we already talked about some concepts days ago. I told her very important things at that moment:

  1. Save your password somewhere safe: I emphasized that she should keep her key online, on her desktop and even on a piece of paper to make sure it doesn't get lost
  2. Make a great username that speaks for you: And she did. There and then, @brewingstories was born on Steemit lol
  3. Prepare for her interpersonal skills: A sense of community has always been a thing in Steemit and I wanted to instill that to her as early as now. I promoted @steemph.cebu to her as this community has made my first few months in Steemit so amazing. I know she will reach out to others if she has enough time to do so
    4.Keep the quality of your posts high but your expectations low: I didn't want her to see Steemit as simply a place for profit. Though this is one of the reasons which compelled her to sign-up, I urged her to seek intrinsic motivation in her stay in Steemit. The platform is unpredictable and sometimes expectations just ruins the spirit of minnows

27400167_10210623254968656_2104449469_n.jpg
I introduced using Markdown text to her so she can make great looking posts in the future

I committed to her growth in the platform and told her that I will support her growth here. With such vision, I immediately showed her means to make her content look fantastic. She told me how it reminds her of Friendster, a social media site which was a big hit years ago. It should be easy for her to use markdown text.

27157175_948360951996459_1164213223_n.png
Photocredits and user selection credit goes to @fernwehninja

In addition, I sent her a photo made possible by @fernwehninja which listed people who are valuable members on the platform and could really help her out. I added in some of the people I know also. She was overwhelmed with the idea so I tried to break it down for her. I recommended that the make her introduction post first. Make connections with the people of @steemph.cebu and join the wonderful contests of the community. I also told her about @steemiteducation, @thealliance and @air-clinic which are community accounts I very much give my support to. I'm really hoping she finds her niche in the platform


-------


IMG_20180119_095229.jpg

This is Aaron. Just keep steeming!

IMG_20180121_110646.jpg

Sort:  

This is amazing, nice to read about your experience promoting Steemit. You can grow the local community, hold many more steemit meetups. People will eventually get noticed and join the platform. Keep it up!

That is my dream actually, to pull my friends into thw platform so they can feel the wonders of the platform

That's some excellent advice you've given. Congrats on sharing the lovee!

It's very exciting when you are able to potentially offer someone something that is life changing. 😍

Hey there @carrieallen. Im so honored that you happened to pass by my blog. Hope she has fun here and meet people of similar interests just like how I met you guys over at #thealliance.

Honestly, I just need friendly reminders to go check on people. Because our feeds are completely unfiltered there's really no way for me to see MORE of the people I'd like to unless I just GO to their page.

I'm glad to have remembered you today. Keep up the awesome work!

Steemit enjoy comment upvote & earn money

Please stop spamming @usmn. That is not a good way to go around here

ok already I vote. do not forget to vote back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58