Steemit Meetup: A Skeptic turned into a Foolish Dreamer

in #promo-steem7 years ago


received_1276243855810643-01.jpeg


My FOOLISH Dream



If people would ask me: "What do you want to be in the future?"
I would say: “I want to be the next Tyra Banks and the next Oprah Winfrey COMBINED”

If I were the one asking and you told me that, I would be laughing my ass off...
So yeah you guessed it right, most of those who asked laughed as well and some might have thought I was a FOOL.

It sounds so up there in the air (foolish) if I told you that I would answer that way because I want to look fabulous like a model and help everybody build their confidence like Tyra Banks and at the same time be an inspiration to everybody like Oprah Winfrey. I wanted to have that influence where in what you say would matter. I want that someday they would use a quote and say Johnrel said that. But since it sounds so far-fetched (and foolish), I tried to just move on and get over it.

Tyra Banks
1Z3SLwU68Jpl.jpg
Source


Oprah Winfrey
oprah.jpg
Source



Me!! HaHa
BeFunky Collage.jpg



How STEEMIT was introduced to me



received_1276439999124362-01.jpeg



One lucky day, while I was having lunch with my colleagues one of them shared about Steemit. He told us that it is just like Facebook but the difference is you are paid for posting your ideas. At first I was like;

"Paid for posting your ideas? Are you fuckin kidding me?"

"Who would pay you for positing your shit on social media?"

"Is this a new Scamming strategy?"



I definitely didn't buy it I was definitely very skeptic. Then my colleague said:


“It is basically a platform where you share your thoughts and you share your ideas.
It is a way for you to voice out what you want people to hear and at the same time learn from other people”



Those lines really resonated in my head and right off the bat I said to myself:


"You mean i can show off my inner fabulous Tyra Banks???
And at the same time be like my inner Mahatma Ghandi and Oprah Winfrey???"


That moment definitely had my interest fever-pitched. I might be in over my head that time but I loved it. I didn’t care about being paid for sharing my ideas but I was deeply motivated by the thought that I will be able to somehow fulfill a foolish dream that I thought had already died. Steemit actually has fueled the foolish dream I think is impossible and in some way has given me a way to fulfill my foolish creative purpose. At that moment, did I still think if this was a scam? Actually still a Yes! Hhahhaha. Because I didn’t even know what Cryptocurrency is I only knew it was a virtual money. There were a lot of things about the platform which were really greek to me. I only said to myself that "Scammers are very smart nowadays. Evolution is indeed true." Hahahaha but with the hope of fulfilling my foolish visions, I signed up.



The Meet-up





20180204_144253-01.jpeg



After roughly four days, my account got confirmed and even without a clear understanding what Steemit was I just posted what I had in mind even though I knew I wouldn’t have a lot of Upvoters because of my limited connections and following on the platform. My colleague who invited me to join Steemit told me that there would be a meetup where I could meet the other members of Steemit here in the Philippines and learn more about the platform. Without batting an eye, I said “I’M GOING!” I never hesitated to join because I deeply wanted to learn about the platform and I wanted to know how I can expand my following and reach out to more people.


20180207_164013-01.jpeg


And so the meetup day came and I was pretty excited. There were already some people that I was able to know through the platform because they came from my locality as well but never really met them and I was excited to see them on this meetup.



received_1276243762477319-01.jpeg


When I was already at the meetup I was very silent. I am someone who doesn't talk at the first encounter, I would love to gauge people first and evaluate if someone matches with me or we just can’t be friends. So in the first hour I was dead silent. But the members of the Steemit community were so welcoming, so *“Noisy?”* hahaha and really energetic, vibrant and have so much tenacity but what most of them have in common is they have a vision. All of them have the goal of sharing their ideas to the world and being heard all of them have foolish dreams like I do and they are all with me now. At one point in my life I was able to tell myself that I am not the only fool in this world. There are a lot of fools who are dreamers, visionaries and they are on the move to make it happen. That very instant my whole spirit just rose up to the heavens and I said to myself that this is the platform for me, this is the community I want to be in, this is the community I belong. Where fools support fools and where fools help each other reach their foolish dreams.



20180204_165223-01.jpeg


Hi @tegoshei so glad to have finally met you
20180204_165338-01.jpeg


Hi gals @bellatravelph @orhem
20180204_165021-01.jpeg



The Teach




20180204_152445-01.jpeg


When the program officially started, the members were divided into categories, the Newbies, the Ongoing Members, International Members, and etc. Since there were a lot of things I didn’t know about the platform, I joined the newbies. During the teach, I was educated how Steemit works, how to expand your following, some policies that we must follow to have a better Steemit experience, how to make your post reach more people, how to maximize earnings and most especially how to better support each other.



20180204_152431-01.jpeg


I was deeply amazed how these people from the community willingly shared their knowledge and experience about the platform. They literally won’t get anything from it and just really wanted to do it. I have just met a community where people help other people, where foolish dreamers help other foolish dreamers make their foolish dreams come true. The people from the community might have different purpose on joining the community but the people from the community are just there to support and that’s the beauty of the community.



received_1276244129143949-01.jpeg



AFTER THE MEETUP



For me the Meetup cleared everything. It is not a scam hahaha shame on me, it is a gift. It made me realize how lucky I am to be one of the few people who have been introduced to the community and now I felt the need to share it to others to give them a shot of making their foolish dreams come true. I would like to thank my colleague Cresente Debuayan @iamwhatiamnot for introducing Steemit to me, for guiding and supporting me all the way through and for being the instrument to light up the torch of my dreams again.


Sharing Steemit to Previous Co-workers
20180112_204347-01.jpeg


Sharing Steemit to Friends
20180114_204356-01.jpeg


I am also thankful to have met a lot of brilliant people with foolish dreams in the community during the meetup you guys are foolishly awesome. Now I am very excited to post every day, I feel like every day is a new opportunity to share, learn and inspire other people. And most especially, every day here on Steemit makes me hungrier of making my foolish dreams come true. I might not become exactly what I want to become but with Steemit I know that I have fulfilled my creative purpose. I am just really hungry of making the most out of this platform and share what I have in mind. As what Steve Jobs said;

“Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish”

and I say

Stay Foolishly Hungry!!

Sort:  

Makes me more excited to join the next meet up. Upvoted and resteemed @johnrel

Aaaawwweee... I would love to go with you @wandergal... See yoouuu on the next meetup

Of course! Let's go together then. See you soonest!

Way to go pretty! Stay foolish! Aja aja :)

You Tooo Frreetttyyyyy

OMG!! Super happy to finally meet you, @johnrel... Would love to spend time with you again... Dreams are dreams no matter how foolish they may seem. Live your dreams, Rel... They're not that far away... Your personality and your being you attract your goals easily, so keep up the wonderful work and always do your best! hugs

P_20180204_165308.jpg
Been keeping this pic on my phone... hahahaah

Myyyyy Stttooommmmaaccchhh hahahaha.... Im excited to meet you again @tegoshei .... hehehehe... I was really haappy that Steemit made way for us to meet hehehe.... Next meetup nappuuddd <3

hahahahhaha.... sagdie lang na ky wala ra na katunga sa akoa.. hahahaha xDDD awiiieeee~ I feel the same jud bah... ^^ Yass!!! Next meetup it is~!!! ^^

I so love it..Let's soar high foolish dreamer😊😂 hahaha. You are so creative and talented. You really belong to steemit that never a scam. 😊 I enjoy reading your post. There's so much sense of humor. I want to talk to you on the next meetup. 😊 stay awesome!

Aaaaawweeee... Thaankkk yoouuu @bellatravelph i appreciate your comment <3 .. I will definitely go on the next meetup... Heheheh I would be very glad to know you better... I know you've got so much sense of humor as well;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62684.33
ETH 2456.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66