5,000 SP Delegation - What I would Use It For!

in #promo-steem6 years ago (edited)

Steemit Background.jpg

So I saw this post from @mountainjewel asking what I would do with a 5,000 SP delegation. [https://steemit.com/contest/@mountainjewel/200-sp-delegation-or-contest]
Let me first tell you a story:

So I joined Steemit in February, 5th to be precise (on @thedavidadesina) and when I joined, all I wanted to do was make enough money from Steemit to get myself out of financial struggles. I started making posts about a few days after and it was looking really good. My #introduceyourself post made around $3-$4 and I was excited (even though I used all 100% rewards to Power Up). I told almost all my friends about the new platform I just discovered that paid me to curate lovely content and everyone was hyped. These guys (babes too) tried for weeks to get approved but it was a very tiresome and long wait to the finish line, so alot of them got disconnected from the idea. My friend and roommate, Olawale tried to get an account 4 different times and didn't get on. I had to give him access via another account I had created.

Then almost a month into my Steeming experience, I got hacked!!! It was like the most frustrating 3-5 days of my 2018 so far. A reputation of 42 built within a month was lost in less than 78 hours. It culminated to added frustration and discouragement for the people I had sold Steemit to all along. Then in my frustration, after lamenting to @guiltyparties and @drakos on Steem Chat, a fellow Steemian in Nigeria here, @learnandteach01 offered to help me open a new account with Steem Connect. Having gone through the rigorous process with Steemit in opening my account (waited about a week to get my account opened) I just naturally assumed that the process would be a little long. Surprisingly, we started the conversation at around 5/6am GMT +1 and in less than 30 minutes I had gotten this account sorted.
(Pause Story)

If I get a 5,000 SP delegation, I'd dedicate it to raising at least 100 - 200 Steemians in Ile-Ife (my residential and professional work location). I have this amazing feeling that Steemit can have a great impact in helping the average Nigerian youth scale out of poverty. Like I mentioned in my story earlier, most of my friends are still yet to get onboard on Steemit and they are still eager and enthusiastic about it.

My immediate environment is one that has several institutions of higher learning and all of them are populated with individuals who are creative and talented, and their presence on the social platform would add immense value to the platform. Among these guys who live here in Ife and are already on the Steemit platform are: @mediahousent @freemanthoughts @tayelolu @gominadafidi @sylarhim @gloglo @iamthegray @mcraj @tobisolah (a vast majority of them were introduced to Steemit by me) and I believe that I can assist more persons get on board and make more value on the platform.

(Back to my story)
After Muhammad helped me open this account, I tried to get my other account restored. At the end of the day, I had to make do with restarting the growth of this account. @drakos and @guiltyparties have been quite supportive. @stach community have also been there and around, coming through every once in a while.

So there you have it @mountainjewel my delegation would be invested into getting people onto Steemit and what remains of it would be divested into curating quality content via valid contests that would help promote Steemit.

Sort:  

indeed steemit is not just a life empowering program, it is also a loving community made up of creative writers and composers. Bringing steemit to ile-ife won't be a bad idea at all. Sorry about the hacked account anyways.

What i love most about steemit is how it gives power to the ordinary man. Imagine you and i who do not have connections in nigeria still being able to empower people? DOPE.....

Abi naaaaa... Let's make them stronger... Get them on board...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73