MY PRESENTATION AT THE IBADAN STEEMIT MEET UP: THE NEWBIES PLAGUE 2

in #promo-steem7 years ago


This is a four minute video of my presentation at the Steemit Ibadan Meet-up. The Newbies were my target but the oldies were not left out. I emphasized on the following:

GREAT LEADERS ARE GREAT FOLLOWERS

I emphasized on the need for Newbies to follow people. People they find interesting and they can learn from. They could even get inspiration from reading other people's post.

CELEBRATE YOUR LITTLE SUCCESS

I discouraged the Newbies from coming in with so much expectations. It isn't bad to be positive but when they expect too much, they open the door to so much disappointment. But when they expect so little, little will mean so much to them.
And when little means so much to them, they become more appreciative and thus celebrate their very tiny success. The fulfilment that comes with success will further drive them to more success.

SOCIALIZE

This is a broad topic on steemit but a major one that in a large way will determine how far the newbies will go.

GET FOLLOWED

The secret is "Engagement"

DO NOT SPAM

@michelle.gent is one steemian who I know receives lots of Spam comments on her posts. She frowns at this greatly and even expresses her disgust on those comments.
Spamming is leaving totally unrelated replies to a post or dropping repetitive comments on different blogs.

This is really bad and could get the Newbies flagged.

This is just a brief summary of the video. You have much more to learn by watching the video.

Everyday of my life, I yearn to make people happy. I want to be the reason someone in another continent smiles. I want to be the reason someone in another country, village, city is able to pay their tuition or that of their child/children.

I hope soon enough the worth of my upvote on people's post will be enough for them to buy a meal. I want to make people feel so much love. I am already doing that, I hope that soon enough I will be able to reach more people.

I am the Steemit Evangelist.

Thank you for reading.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

What a great post! (I admit I didn't watch the video, but I did enjoy your summary).

But when they expect so little, little will mean so much to them.

Perfect!

Thanks so much ma'am. You are one person whose support from my early days on here has been amazing.

You may not know this but

You inspire me a lot. This is why I keep referring all the writers that I introduced to steemit to your blog. They need that inspiration too.

Thanks for stopping by. I adore you 😘😘😘

Nwayioma you were on point...
@gee1 awesome lady

Nwoke oma... Thanks dear

Great write-up though am new here but I seem to be learning more interesting things about how this system works. I look forward to attending another segment of Ibadan Steemit-meetup workshop

Thanks darling.

Do well to learn all you can to learn on this amazing platform. It will be worth all your time.

My G, you were really on point that day wink

Thanks my celebrity MC😘😘😘😘

Everyday of my life, I yearn to make people happy. I want to be the reason someone in another continent smiles. I want to be the reason someone in another country, village, city is able to pay their tuition or that of their child/children.

Thanks for d lecture @gee1 during #IbadanSteemMeetup. May ur dreams come to pass in dis great platform of Love. Keep it up with d good work

A big amen to that!!!
Thanks love

This is lovely.

Thank you

Many things the newbies don't know about steemit, they just feel once you post you must earn, I don't actually blame them because that was what they were told before joining the platform, with such mentality they want to see large amount on each post and get discouraged easily if they don't but its actually a gradual process. No body makes it overnight, it take time and hard work.
Keep spreading the gospel of steemit. Nice speech

Exactly that was my thought when I firstly signed up😂😁 but it seems am a quick learner am getting to know more about how the system works

Lol... Now you see, you have to work the work

Your presentation was superb, keep gearing up. Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome dear. I guess you couldn't make it for the meet-up.

Yeah dear, my schedule was so tight...i know i missed so much. But will make it up in any next.

@gee1, you never cease to amaze me..
I might have missed the meet-up but I sure have learnt a lot from this post..
keep Preaching dearie..

Awwwwwwwww... Thanks hun..

I'm glad you learnt from this

My personal steemit mumi. Great job.

Thanks love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55