#SixtySeconds on Twitter

in #promo-steem6 years ago (edited)

I’m interested to look back at the effectiveness of my own tweets in @surfermarly’s #sixtyseconds campaign on Twitter.

On the day I published two tweets and I engaged with likes, retweets and comments - something that I will continue to do to perpetuate the campaign, after all the community produced some amazing content and collateral in Marly's competition.

I’m looking here at the effectiveness of these two tweets:

I created an image and when with a slogan /call to action: and embedded a you tube hyperlink int eh tweet. This led importantly to 6 retweets.

Impressions: 1,232

Retweets: 6

Engagements: 56

I wanted to shine the light on @AshTv’s video directly, an image came up on the desktop version of Twitter but NOT on the mobile app. This tweet didn’t have a slogan and had different #tags – all in all this led to just one retweet and less engagements.

Impressions: 731

Retweets: 1

Engagements: 18

You can see how important VISUALS are to a campaign!

What worked best for you guys on Twitter?

How many impressions and engagements did you get?

@surfermarly @ashtv @psos @theycallmedan @nathanmars @uyonong @rehan12 @bxlphabet @adetorrent @ivansnz @thejohalfiles @midlet @pangoli @yaanivapeji @ajadelinelee @waybeyondpadthai @ireneblessing @horpey @samminator @joeyarnoldvn @daan @jongolson @elsiekjay

Sort:  

You should also dive deep on this to see what you are actually getting in terms of reach. A good majority of the steemers active on twitter now only have other steemers for connections. In some cases our tweets are like an internal message.

I've been thinking of this in light of the twitter coaching I was doing a few years ago. The advice I would give is to engage widely in your industry. This is very time intensive. It is not easy to get others to follow you or look at your tweets.

But now we kind of have a "fake" engagement level since we are all following each other. So if I tweet and 10 steemers rt me and they ONLY have other steemers as connections - what is the gain?

And even with that - few ReTweet or Reply anyway as you have just found out. My engagement plummeted when I started steeming in 2017. The people in my other niches are much more likely to engage. If I tweet with #crypto now, I will get a bunch of RT's from other crypto people and a bunch of "likes" from steemers. They almost never jump to the post on steem.

I just looked quickly in my analytics and my 60 seconds tweet is not in my top 30. I am a person that does have an established account and tweet all day. So I would have to look to find this one. This project was all about advertising, and many people do pass by anything that looks like an ad, so that works against it.

Also - did we get link clicks? Is anyone actually watching these videos? Did they show an uptick on the day we did this project? This is a whole separate question, but relevant.

I'm not whatsoever discouraged by this, but it is most definitely an unusual situation. If nothing else, we have enthusiasm and action. Over time this can lead to great things.

Yes great comments - and I can see the risk in creating an intra-steemian community within twitter. I think only 5 out of the 20 likes of my top tweet were non-steemian - and of these 5 most of them were involved in #crypto. That sings to the fact that my following is also #crypto focussed and very #steem centric. Thanks very much for the comment - I have found you on Twitter as well @ FitinfunSharon !

Awesome. I was already following you and have you and my other steemers on this list:
https://twitter.com/FitinfunSharon/lists/steem-friends/members

I have a goal to get my crypto people "other than steem" onto another list soon, but that is a project. I have at least 800 now and should have done this from the start!

If those videos showed Steem in its best light but the traction on twitter wasn't great, is there another alternative.

What I find works best as to tweet links to great posts that have good rewards. In my case, I have connections with authors, coaches, alt-health, travel and a few other niches, so when I see good posts here, I tweet them.

In twitter, you need to build those connections through time. I have been working my account since 2013. So whatever your niche is, try to connect with those people by following them, retweeting, and replying.

But aside from steemers who only have steem connections, we do have others like me with broader connections. They might RT you too.

My hope is that people will promote great posts they see here on any topic. Add the #steem hashtag but also others. So:

You see a good post about a tourist attraction in Japan.
Tweet it with enticing text and #travel #japan #steem

This way a person seeking travel or japan will find the tweet and notice it is from steem. If we are only tagging with steem this will only be seen by other steemers and people searching for news of the coin.

So a random #travel person might see the tweet and think, "I post about travel in India. Maybe I could post on steem too and get good rewards as well." (For example.)

Also tweet your own good posts with the same hashtagging pattern in mind. Use #steem - but also topical tags.

We have amazing action on twitter now and with fine-tuning we will only get better. We have enough people, that we can really succeed over time, but it is a marathon, not a sprint.

Please ask me if I am not making sense, @honeybee11 - it is late in Malaysia :)

Hello @fitinfun! Your advise here is very valuable and knowledgeable! It would be great to contact you more directly to discuss these techniques. @oracle-d is slowly building a twitter army, and I think there are many things that can benefit Steem with your input

I'll be glad to help anyone. I'm in discord with the some username or [email protected]. But I answer any comments here too :)

Makes perfect sense @fitinfun - follow @starkerz lead there is indeed a twitter troop you can add value to.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I totally agree.

@cryptocurator Stats from my Tweet posted on the 20th.

Great stats Ash and I know you gotta sign up through Instagram too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi there! :)
Not bad ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

I am new on twitter, and try to tweet each day and retweet. Here is the tweet for the advertising

ad tweet bxl.PNG

And here are the replies

ad tweet bxl replies.PNG

I am not too sure if that last reply is good or not.

Interesting! I’ll dig out my stats :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey Ash - was there a big spike in YouTube Views on the day as well?

Just had a look. There actually wasn't a HUGE spike on the YouTube views to be honest. Only 95 views on the 20th Feb. I think the videos were watched mainly on the direct uploads on Twitter and Instagram. YouTube clearly didn't have the immediacy of Twitter video.

Good question, I’ll look at that too

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @cryptocurator!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.389 which ranks you at #2321 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 242 contributions, your post is ranked at #66.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37