Promoting Steemit as a Way to Enrich the Community : Meet @reewritesthings

in #promo-steem6 years ago (edited)

12.jpg
Ree and I on our meetup earlier this afternoon.

Why promote Steemit?

Earlier this afternoon, I had a meetup with Ree at the Dessert Factory (JMall). I already introduced her to steemit through chat and she already made an account. But we never really met in person to discuss and for me to teach her the basics other than creating her account, not until now.
Promoting steemit is very important for the community to grow. I think we need more people who has the passion and determination to produce quality posts. Aside from that, it is also a way of helping other people come out of their shell and encourage them share the knowledge they have on what interests them.

What did we discuss?

How the Steemit Community Works

I taught Ree the basics, what’s the difference between steem, steem power and steem dollars. She’s a fast learner and I know that she’s interested to learn because she jots down notes while I was discussing. Also, I taught her some basic markdown techniques that could help her make her first post better.

Finding her niche

I think it is very important for a content writer to find his or her niche. As for Ree, she is very knowledgeable in poetry, books and calligraphy so I encouraged her to focus more on that.

What to expect

I already told her how steemit works and I followed it up with what to expect. That it will be difficult to earn upvotes from the start but I know she will just get it as she goes along since she has the talent to produce quality posts. I also taught her the power of upvote and the process to cashout just in case she wants to redeem her rewards in the future.

What can she contribute to the community?

I believe steemit is a two way road, you give something, it will reward you for it. I encouraged her to give back to the community by sharing what she is. Basically sharing about the things that interest her. It will be easier for her to share those things since she’s already knowledgeable about the things she loves.

Day well spent

13.jpg
A preview of her hand lettering which she did before we bid goodbye.

Ree also taught me some basic calligraphy techniques just to have fun. It was my first time seeing a person hand lettering really well. It is really an art. Maybe I will practice at home and try it for myself.

11.jpg
Us striking out a pose during our meetup.

Watch out for Ree’s introduction on steemit. Let us support her to show our support to local Steemians! I think that’s it for now. Happy steeming! If you have comments, feel free to share your thoughts below!

Sort:  

It seems you're getting more hooked in promoting steemit @brokemancode. Nice move!

Thank you so much @themanualbot! I learned from the master (YOU)! :)

Hi @brokemancode! That's really nice of you to promote steemit. You do meet ups pala. Would be glad to join you on your next meet up :)

Hi @thisisruby ! Normally, I just attend meetups that were organized by other people. Especially those that some of the whales attend, we can really learn a lot from them. This is the first time actually that I encouraged someone close to me to join the steemit community. Don't worry, if there's a meetup, I will inform you. The more the merrier! :)

I really wanna attend gatherings like that. I mean not just to make friends but also learn from their experiences. Thank you in advance and will look forward for the next meet up!

sure! Me too, just like you, I like to learn from others. :)

Yay! Would be great! Thanks @brokemancode!

That's nice thinking. Thanks.

thank you so much

Upvoted. Helping is the best thing we could ever do to another human being. Steem on!

I agree. Thanks for dropping by. :)

Hello friend, good post please follow back

Hi thanks for reading my post. :)

That's awesome, helping steemit grow as a community is exactly what we need. I have personally introduced 4 people now and have helped train them and promote them. I hope you form your own steemit group soon and share tips and storeis. Keep up the great work. All the best in 2018. :)

Thank you so much. I definitely agree, expanding the community will help promote quality posts and teaching other people our knowledge may also help them financially.

wow! we were in Jmall too just beside The Dessert Factory with @thegaillery. We were in My Greek Taverna. Wa ta nagkita :D hahaha.

it was a good initiative for you to promote the community! ^^ Keep it up @brokemancode.

Really? What a small world! Thank you @honeyletsgo! Too bad we we're not able to see each other but I guess I saw @thegaillery. But I'm not quite sure hence, I didn't approach. Haha so near yet so far .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81