Steemit Gift Certificates : DRAFT STAGE : I need the Steemit think tank on this one.

in #promo-steem7 years ago

draft.png

Christmas is upon us and I reckon we should all give away SBD instead of the usual cold hard cash or standard store voucher. (Many thanks to @dreamiely for the inspiration!)

Here are my reasons why I think giving SBD instead of fiat is a great idea this Christmas.

  1. The Gift of Cryptocurrency.
    I'm pretty sure most of the planet has heard about Bitcoin by now and through that the word "cryptocurrency." I'm also pretty sure most of them are all WTF about it, some would probably be keen if it didn't seem too intimidating. This is where Steemit shines like a beautiful beacon of crypto hope. And if they haven't heard of cryptocurrency, today is their lucky day! Right?

  2. Money
    Let's be real now. It's very rare that people will say 'No' to money. It's just how it is. If you tell them that x amount SBD on that certificate can one day be worth 5 times the amount - Do you think they'll be interested to learn more?

  3. As Steemians
    As Steemians, PROUD Steemians, not only should we be able to preach the word of Steemit to all, but it is actually in our best interest to do so as shareholders of the platform. You want that x5 to happen we need more contributing members on the platform and to achieve that we all have to pitch in and spread the word.

  4. Back to 2)
    Here is a scenario. You give someone SBD for Christmas in 2017. Just say you have a newborn nephew, first Christmas Aunty Arly goes ahead and gives baby 100SBD, puts it in an account and that amount just sits there forgotten until a few years later it's remembered.

I imagine a world where, in my scenario, that amount would be huge. Like if you forgot you had a bitcoin and found it right now. Wouldn't you be cheering? I would be!

Obviously this was a great idea and needed to be done so....

Step 01. Begin!


I wanted to be able to fit 4 vouchers on a single A4 page. You know, save trees and all that, and began with a quarter of the page first and filled it with white to act as the BASE.

01.png

Step 02. Find the new Steemit logo


I did a search, found it via this post, saved it and inserted it into my work.

02.png

Step 03. Separate the saved image


The saved image is of the logo with Steemit written beside it. I cut the text and pasted it into it's own layer so I can work on each component on their own. This change is reflected in the layers section.

03.png

Step 04. Add a border


I went back to the BASE layer, added a border using the Stroke--Inside--100% Opaque and used the eyedropper to select that delicious Steemit teal as the border colour.

04.png

Step 05. Copy layers & organise them


I then proceeded to copy the Steemit text and logo and dragged them into MASTER folder. This is so just in case I make a wrong move I still have my original sources 😊. Now I have my originals and I also have another folder labelled STEEMIT which will contain the Steemit logo & text that I will be working on from here on in.

08.png

Step 06. Add dimension


So you guys know we can't be messing around with the new Steemit logo right? By that I mean, no touching any of it. Like, we leave that mohawk looking thing AS IS 😆

I'm sorry, I couldn't resist a dig at it. But now that we are all stuck with it, lets grow to love it. How about that spanking green right?!! 😍

With that in mind I created a copy of the LOGO layer, coloured it grey to complement the green and enlarged it just to add another dimension to the design without getting slapped for messing around with the logo.

09.png

Step 07. Fix it up a bit


I reduced the LOGO GREY layer to 30% opaque making it much lighter. I also moved it to the side and cut the bit of the logo that crossed the border. If I had left it there, there would have been a dark patch over that side and I wanted a clean border so it had to go. I also had to drag the grey logo to the side where I can further crop bits of the logo that will be unseen on the design - just because my ocd kicked in.

12.png

Step 08. Organise logo and text


Now that he grey logo is positioned I brought the other logo back up to view so I can begin scaling down the text to fit in line with it.

13.png

Step 09. More organising and adding .com


With the Steemit text reduced down to size I felt any smaller and it would be visually out of whack, so adding .com along side it was not going to work but .com absolutely has to be there so people know what to type on their phones when they look it up on the spot. I did a little design fix and chucked it on it's side.

14.png

Step 10. Brand recognition

We all about brand recognition right now. If we're not we should be. We want everyone to see that mohawk (& that luscious green) and think STEEMIT!

So repeat Step 07.

16.png

Step 11. This could be toeing the line a bit.

Note: I missed a few screen shots, sometimes the process happens so fast, it's actually quite painful to keep taking screen shots, but today I will be a true blue Steemian and make an effort.

If you see below not only did I throw some writing in there, I also added a few things to the Steemit logo like a lighter teal where the white is (just to add another teal pop in there to remind our viewers what our colour is). I saw that space where people can write their own amounts in and felt it was appropriate to throw the STEEM logo in there.

Is this going to be a problem? Big boo boo?

18.png

It eventually turned into this...

20.png

Step 12. Add writing


At this stage the font I was using for 'Gift Certificate' was driving me batty, not even extending the width or the spacing between letters or a curve could fix how this font was making this design feel but I had to move past that and think of what to write.

To & From seemed like a good start.
'Giving you the gift of cryptocurrency these Holidays.' sounded good.
And of course they need to know they need to sign up to redeem their certificate.

How it's all hanging on there feels wrong though.

22.png

Step 13. K.I.S.S


When in doubt I K.I.S.S (Keep It Simple Stupid).

The big font had to go. Streamline the fonts and just use two and a smaller size one that allows the Steemit text and logo jump out at the screen.

I also turned the opaque right down on the modified mohawk (Step 11) so you can barely see it but still manages to hint at the Steemit logo shape.

23.png

Close up!

draft.png

As I look at it now, I see the Steemit logo and the text needs aligning. Possibly change the font, although it's kinda growing on me. The 'Sign Up to steemit.com' text could possibly look better as fine print around that semi circle. I can also remove the second grey logo so I'm not stepping on toes. AND I think it needs to look more festive.

YUP. Definitely on draft stage.

This is where ya'll come in.

  1. What else do we want to write on this?

  2. How will it work? Do we pre-sign them up and write down their passsword at the back of the certificate? Or they can sign up on their own, if so how do they claim their sbd?

Ideas? Please pop them in the comments and lets work this thing out.

💗Arly


follow_bearone.gif

Sort:  

That's pretty cool stuff. I gotta give one to my cousin and buddy from work I've been nagging to get in steemit.

Ahhhh!! See!! I was wondering if there was going to be others on board with this. I can see Steemit being the talk around the christmas table this year :)

Yeah, I don't see anyone else jumping on board, but I think I'll get my cousin here soon!

Boo you are always so clever! Now you've given me something to think about :)

Aww shucks 😆😆😘😘

hohohoh merry xsteemas everybody hehe :P
"kiss" I should remember that more often ^^

I think the card is awesome you have mad skills!!
How about putting the the SBD in your wallet under Savings and when the times comes you write the keys to the account on the back of that card and give it to your beautiful niece!!
this is so kute!!
^.*

It's a good idea, but SBD's are always going to be worth 1USD, at least that's the idea of them. They won't increase in value unless the USD does, and it never has. Giving them steem is a great idea, but SBDs won't take off.
(I realise this sounds silly right now since they're trading at $3-6, but they'll come back down)

hahah thats exactly why I thought SBD, but hey we can always make it interchangable so its sbd/steem?

you are right it !
the sbd are interconnected with the steem: if steem goes up sbd go down and vicecersa
it is the Steem that is "elastic" meaning fluctuates...the sbd are just dollars intertwined with the steem it is like that bitconnect coin you can only buy with bitcoin inside the platformand so steem can oly be bought with sbd inside steemit.com
while the bitconnect coin is in a 1:1 with bitcoin meaning they go in parallel
the steem and sbd are in a 1:-1 rapport mening if one goes up the other foes down
it is in the architecture of the code developped by the creators
:P
this is what I think anyways :P

You're not quite right. SBDs are a way of avoiding the volatility of steem.
If you think there's a rough road ahead, and you want to 'cash out' your gains, you can buy SBDs and know that even if the price of steem drops, you still have X dollars worth of steem.
It offers the security of selling the steem, but lets you keep it safely on the platform, instead of sitting in an exchange, or landing in your bank account, and being considered taxable income.

ohhh that makes sense I knew I was missing something as I was on bittrex now and saw steem for 1.7 and sbd for 5.5... I was like huh?! thanks for clarifying ...who ever built these platforms should be president of the world lol I mean these developers should praised by the world because they are giving you and me a chance to make some money and really it takes nothing other than your time and devotion...
Imagine if all the people of the world especially those in need have a steemit account or even a mobile app for mining some coins...you can virtually eliminate poverty, surely people will get enriched even for some pennies...we forget easily that half the world live on less than 2 dollars a day ... that's why you see asia going crazy over crypto I mean really crazy lol even china that banned bitcoin have its boys mining in the dark like there is no tomorrow :P oh well I guess time comes with change and change comes with time

And we're right here at the start. You're going to get invited to a lot of parties a year from now :)

sbd hits all time high on bittrex 18$$$$ sounds like the party already started no need for one year hahahaha
cheers!!!

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

You are on the right path!

Great idea, how about putting those steem in an external wallet like free wallet then the receiver doesn't have to have a Steemit account and you just write down the password of the wallet. I don't think storing the steem in your savings account makes sense, what if I give out multiple gifts to various people? And how are they truly take possession of this gift?

Well thats where they need to sign up for a Steemit account, which is kind of what we want right? Get them interested enough to try the platform?

I do like the free wallet idea!

Considering I waited three weeks for an account and ended up buying one on anon, there is not much joy in that! That's why I thought giving them the steem in an external wallet and have them sign up later.

Ohhh I don't have that problem and can ask to please have one made with delegated sp direct from me if I ever want to sponsor any of my recruits personally.

That's why for me its not such a big deal. Opening a Steemit account is like opening a bank account. They open, I transfer. If they take it seriously I can delegate.

That's a noble idea @bearone. Crypto is more stable than fiat.

It sure is!

This is a fantastic idea! I love it <3
Perhaps a @Steemitgiftservices account could be made and a user wanting to gift SBD makes a transfer to that account with a code or a riddle or something. Idk lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64