OUR IMPACT TODAY IN THE COMMUNITY

in #promo-steem7 years ago

Hi Everybody,

I guess we are all okay and fine? We all should be fine as far as you belong to the Steem Community. Like I promised in one of my previous post concerning giving free upvotes and resteems and I did what I promised and it is still on-going till the payout day. You can check that FREE UPVOTES AND RESTEEM


IMG_20180127_102530_1-01.jpeg


IMG_20180204_075849_1-01.jpeg

I am about to talk about the great impact we made today, please take time to read it. I am a serving Nigeria Corp Member in Ebonyi state, My PPA( Place of Primary Assignment ) is KINGS MODEL ACADEMY, Mgbede, Akaeze, Ivo LGA, Ebonyi State, Nigeria. The school is resided in a very rural community and it is the only private and the only secondary school. At times I wonder why I was posted there. I am the first serving Corp Member in the community and after some months @fortuneship and some other joined me, making us 6 corp members all together.

My fellow Steemians, I would like to say this: Anywhere you find yourself and you can't make a great impact then I say you are a waste. In the whole Ivo Local Govt., serving corp members don't even know there is a place named MGBEDE until I and my colleague tried our best and convey them down to the community and make more impact to the students' life.
IMG_20180127_093314_1-01.jpeg


IMG_20180204_075735_1-01.jpeg

The first impact we made to the community is by taking a christian group known as NCCF (Nigerian Christian Corpers Fellowship) down there so they can preach the word of God including @opeyemi0630 @prettyabby @debbylicious and give the lots of counselling and gifts are being given, lot of charity services are being offered, Health talks, Donations, Hair making and most importantly PRAYERS AND THE WORD OF GOD. the program tag is RURAL RUGGED, I know some of us reading this right now might have heard about it. the program went successfully, lives were changed to good. The unbelievers changed to believers. Thank God for the success of the program.
IMG_20180127_092900_1-01.jpeg


This is an image of their shrine, That is what they believe.

IMG_20180204_074444-01.jpeg


The impact we made today goes to the community school.

When I got to the community, I found out that their education level is very poor. They prefer to speak their local dialect instead of English Language. This was very challenging to me, I was even thinking if I can take the challenge. I almost told the principal of the school to reject me. Why? Because of the environment, you hardly see mobile network to even call your families. But guess what? I finally accepted to stay and try my best I can offer. My first time in the class was hell. I can hardly pass a message to them, not because I cant teach but because they dont understand English, they are used to their local dialect. I dont understand the dialect and if I speak mine, they surely cant understand too. But I bless God for the wisdom and knowledge and strength he gave me and my colleague. I and my other colleague began the journey and today, the student can speak Good English and write, understand and interact and solve problems related to their studies. Then I use to think they can never learn but I learnt not to underrate someone. I and my fellow corp member are really enjoying the community.

IMG_20180204_074654_1-01.jpeg


IMG_20180204_080422_1-01.jpeg



Today, We organized a CDS (Community Development Service) that is aimed at developing communities and sensitizing the people there. We sensitized the students about How they can grow in their education life and study well, we talked about how they can get scholarships and what scholarship really is, we also gave lot of Safety tips to them. Most of them are farmers so we also sensitized them on safety tips while in farm and lot more. The student really participated in the program because it is the first of it kind in the whole community. We thank God for the success of everything.

IMG_20180301_095907-01.jpeg


IMG_20180301_102508-01.jpeg


IMG_20180301_093046-01.jpeg


IMG_20180301_112651-01.jpeg


IMG_20180301_095932_1-01.jpeg


I will be leaving them back to my state by April. NYSC (National Youth Corps Member) is just a year thing, it is an orientation program you go through as a Nigerian Citizen after your years in the Higher institutions and I must really confess, It is a great experience.
<hr?

If you think you will like to support us both financially and advise wise, Kindly leave a comment on how you want to. All funds earned from this post will be used in providing learning materials to the school. We value the children in the community and we must show them the love we have for them before leaving them finally.

Thanks for taking time to read this.

Don't forget to upvote and resteem this.


All pictures are taken by me. Some in panorama mode with my Tecno L9+ and are all original photos with high definition

Sort:  

Thank you for obeying the clarion call to serve your father land. Your experience will surely make you to know that there us another side to life and that side is worth saving. My experience as a corp member back in 2008 in Bags, Borno state has also help me to see that things are not always the same at the other side of life. You need to see the other side before you made any decision about life. Good luck as you round up in serving your father land.

Yeah. Great experience it is bro.

Service to humanity is the best work of life!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69