Met up with these crazy dudes last night! @stephenkendal and @themeanbean for a STEEM based geek chat

in #promo-steem6 years ago (edited)

Apparently STEEM is not accepted as a means of payment in the Chinese Buffet in Manchester!

_20180209_104233.JPG
I thought @stephenkendal would look great with noodle hair


So last night, I had a bit of a jaunt across the Pennines, putting my life in ridiculous jeopardy through extraordinarily strong winds, driving rain and an M62 which was wetter than an Otter's pocket, to the small (and quite backward I thought) hamlet of Manchester, which as all British Northerners are aware is like a cheap version of Huddersfield (which is of course the centre of the known Universe).

@Stephenkendal is shameless, chatting up the 22 year old barmaid Katia at Brownes bar where we met, but of course, he claims he just wanted to tell her about STEEM. A likely story.

The real reason I was there was to meet with Kiran, aka @themeanbean, a lovely chap, and a great STEEM geek, who is going to help me to implement some of the clever features for supporting promoters on the promo-steem website.

Over what can only be described as a very healthy festival of Carbs and Monosodium Glutamate, we then proceeded to consume twice our body weight in Chinese food from what appeared to be a never ending supply of highly addictive grub, and for a change I did not manage to end up with most of it down my front.


buffetcity2.jpg

Awesome food, dripping with everything bad for you


(

One of two dessert stands. @themeanbean and I went crazy for this

Topics of coversation on the menu included:

  • Where is STEEM going in the next 12-24 months?
  • What is the role of #promo-steem as a community within a community (something I talk about in this video here)
  • How do we continue to create FREE resources for everyone in the community to use
  • How do we influence Whales and Dolphins to consider supporting promotional activity, which in turn boosts demand (and ultimately the value of their wallets).
  • Why does the cryptomarket always seem to have a heavy correction when @starkerz goes on holiday, and how we can stop him ever boarding a plane again?

I then spent the next half an hour wandering around in the rain trying to find the ridiculously expensive car park where I'd left my motor, only then to discover that it cost me TWENTY QUID (that's about $30, or 8.5 STEEM) to leave my car for under 4 hours. Thanks NCP Manchester, you robbing set of bastards. (I'm a Yorkshireman, grumbing about the price is a national sport for us).


I have decided that in the next 12 months, I'm going to do my best to spend a bit of time travelling around seeing how many great Steemians I can meet up with, mostly in Chinese buffets, because what was interesting was how many incredible new ideas can come out from these more social meetups (even though all we did was talk about STEEM.... And girls of course!)

And I can't recommend Buffet City in Manchester enough, although I do wish they would accept SBD for payment.

buffetcitylogo.png

If you want to come and join us for a meetup in the UK, we are speaking at the London Cryptocurrency Show in April, with a meetup being organised by the awesome @allasyummyfood afterwards. Find out more here

Sort:  

hopefully you can get a talented person, good luck comrade good luck always, and hopefully i can be one of you looking, i will try to be a good steemit, keep trying and trying, hope you can be a helper and my supporters, in every post I write

I think this time yours may be very funny moment. I want to yours relationship long live.your all food picture is taste and healty.Thanks lot for sharing these with us.

Hhahahhaha "Noodle Hairs""you made my laugh...

There is no doubt you guys deserve the fun after the amazing efforts you have been putting in lately. Hahaha you are trying to roast my friend @stephenkendal. Nice banter. Well done sirs. You are an inspiration to us all.

Yeah @anarcotech and the entire promo-steem community is an inspiration to us all. Their efforts are really amazing and worth emulating.

No doubt about that.

Hello @anarcotech, i'm excited to see you guys working hard to bring all features on board in the website;

who is going to help me to implement some of the clever features for supporting promoters on the promo-steem website.

I believe the meeting was productive, I look forward to these features being added.

I also wished I am in the UK, so I can be in the London Cryptocurrency Show in April, but I will stay in touch with the updates.

I like your post

Great meetup @anarcotech I love the two desert stands. All looks perfect. Congratulations.

You guys really had fun at your meet up

Don't worry @anarcotech every time china bans a technology apparently they come with their own😜 who knows in short time china might launch it's own centralised crypto currency😂
Well it's future seems dull to me but at least you gonna get some exchanges there 😀 @buffet city.
Heartily thanks from all the steemians for including some of the important topics regarding steem's future in coming months at your table.<3

Good your post.l like your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13