Project Stray - Thinking Out Loud Regarding a Staged Battle SystemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #projectstray7 years ago

So the next big goal of the project is going to revolve around designing a system that allows me to create challenging pre scripted battle sequences. I take a long look at the scripting I did in my Doom 2 level Redemption Of The Slain and formulate a list of requirements that I think must be met. I then come up with a possible solution.

This is probably one of the hardest parts in design. Analyzing a problem then figuring out a method to solving it. Its also one of my favorite parts as well.

I realized after recording the video that I used the term "proprietary" in a slightly wrong context. I thought that the meaning of the word could refer to the fact that each thread that I run for each battle in my Doom 2 script is owned by that specific situation and can never be used in other locations in the level.

example: The script for the first battle is specifically designed for the first battle thus making it a proprietary script. So the first battle technically owns that script.

So I explain a lot during the video that with Blueprint scripting I need to make a self contained system that works the same way. Its harder to do this with Blueprints because the scripting is more object oriented and thus tends to lead to making very modular systems. So to make something that is not modular is actually harder in UE4 scripting.

This is actually not the correct use of the term proprietary. Sorry about that!


Follow and upvote me on Steemit! (Up votes equal Crypto!)
https://steemit.com/created/projectstray

Sort:  

This one was hard to follow but its true! You're addicted to workahol! :)

The next video will make more sense because it wont just be a big bunch of random thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06