Trust God, not people!!!

"People will fail you even when they did not plan to fail you"

Last december after my book presentation/launching, I had a handful of disappointments to deal with. Firstly, the "supposed" chairman of the occasion messaged me 22minutes to the time and explained to me why he can't come. My heart sank. I was angry, discouraged and confused in a way. I mean, the price of dreaming can be very very unpredictable at times. I had estimates in my head (Lol), I had imagined massive turn out and support so I could print the books free for students in secondary schools cos they really need it but things sometimes, will not go the way you want them to.

Most guests didn't show up, haven't called or texted till date. Most of my friends and students gave me their words, made me increase the entertainment package but didn't show up. As a human, I felt very bad and then, I felt I was let down by people I've been very good to, people I have sacrificed for, people have worked for and served in a way, and then I allow the feelings get deeper within.

When the year started, I read a wonderful post from a friend here on Facebook about running with people's gas and resources and then I realized how wrong I was to think people owe me a damn thing. I gave up the negative feelings immediately. I messaged those people just to be sure I was okay and wish them well for the new year with 100% sincerity.

You see, sometimes, people don't plan to disappoint you but they end up disappointing you because they're still humans. Human nature is defined in the domain of disappointment and on the graph of uncertainty. People will always miss the opportunity to be there for you every time.

You must learn how to deal with that!

And today in church, the preacher echoed "people will disappoint you even when they don't plan to, as the price you get for concentrating on the resource they have instead of the SOURCE which is God" and I felt how wrongly I have dealt with God. Immediately, I apologized again to God and ask Him for the grace never to focus on the resource instead of the SOURCE.

You will go very far this year if you understand the limitations of the human nature and embrace totally the limitless nature of Jehovah God. You will go very far when you learn to make excuses for people and take them for who they are, without seeking to make them who you think they should be. People will fail you! They don't owe you! Don't plan your life with their resources! Don't define your progress to be dependent on their support even though sometimes, you will need support from people.

If you are lucky to have a very supportive circle, be very thankful but place the focus on God. God can use anybody to grant any support you might need to reach your goals and dreams, don't just be the one to give God the options you have in your head. Trust God not people. Have hope in God not in people. Make your progress in life be dependent on God's ability to provide not on man's promise to support.

Timothy Icon

Sort:  

God is only in your head. You are God. Trust yourself. You can do and achieve anything you want! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51