You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #project-smackdown week 4 report - last report on v1 algorithm

I'm glad to see this happening @personz... appreciate the initiative. I'd like to think that simply publicizing these particular self-upvote trends might be a significant deterrent, by itself.

We have a big challenge here. I am YET to see a rewards site successfully deal with abusive rewards practices and spam... short of simply discontinuing rewards, altogether. Wouldn't it be something if Steemit-- as a community-- could be the first to say "We fought Spam-and-Scam and we WON!"

Keep it up!

Sort:  

Thank you! I was thinking about what you said about your experiences today actually, please write that post about it, I'm dying to hear about it. I think it would be really important for people to know how things when down on a similar platform before.

I think we have a very good chance of breaking out of the spam orbit into outer space!

EDIT

I'd like to think that simply publicizing these particular self-upvote trends might be a significant deterrent, by itself.

I'll look at this in the retrospective, but it isn't generally the case. There are several accounts always on these lists and they have no intention of stopping by the looks of it. However I do know of a few cases where people stopped self voting (so much) after appearing on the list and being flagged. I know of one in particular to responded mainly to flags, so while I can't speak generally with any certainty, I do not believe this project would be as successful without the flags.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62218.49
ETH 2445.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62