Proof of Life

Not going to have a Segira post today because I hit a brick wall of emotional fatigue (day job fun) to match my ongoing sleep deficit and couldn't get anything productive done until I finished going through a little funk. Now it's time for me to go to bed, and not much has gotten done, but it will be done and that's 99% of what matters.

Ultimately spent some time watching Amazon's new King Lear (not finished; looks good so far) and listening to some really loud music (a relic from angst-ridden high school days, don't judge me) plus a little Forza Horizon 4, because I like driving through the wilderness in cars that aren't supposed to go off-road.

Hopefully tomorrow I should be more or less back to functional. Hoping to see Segira released maybe by late Sunday so that I can get into work on the next thing.

Sort:  

I am always impressed when people post every day because when I am coming home after work the day is over ^^
So for me it's normal to have some me-time without doing anything work-related and writing a steem post is also kind of work even if it's fun because it consumes time.
And everybody needs some relax time

I find that if I don't have some schedule I find myself being totally irresponsible with my time. At least checking in–even if I don't have anything to show for it–every day means that I don't enter a phase of "oh, I'll get back to it later" that then turns into constant delays and procrastination.

Of course, part of that's because Loreshaper Games is a business for me, not just a hobby. It's probably never going to become my day job, but it is something I want to grow and develop.

Never say never. There are some ways of earning money with your own games. You could start a podcast like show, playing your own games and that could bring in more ppl and hopefully money, who knows.

And I am still impressed that you can motivate yourself to post something everyday. I can't do that when I had a shitty day at work and just want to get some sleep.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am hoping to somewhat increase the money I make, but mostly for the sake of increasing my budget with which to make games. They're surprisingly expensive (this year, if I manage to publish everything I'm hoping to publish, my published titles will represent a $3000 investment, just counting what I've paid, but probably recoup at most 10% of that).

I've been trying to write something or other daily for the past decade or so. I've only recently gotten "good" at it (much like I've only recently gotten "good" at making games and publishing things that aren't just a 72-hour competition entry or something like that).

I also tend to do a certain amount of pre-writing or conceptualization before I even sit down to write, so it's pretty easy for me so long as I have a little inspiration. I can pump out a thousand words in a half-hour, if I know what I'm going to say. I'm a decent typist, though the quality suffers.

It all comes down to practice, really. I've invested thousands of hours and written hundreds of thousands of words for the sake, generally speaking, of writing more words. Financially it doesn't always make sense, but the truth is that it's become a pretty large part of my daily life, and I enjoy being "good" at it.

The "good" in quotes throughout this section implies "achieving a threshold" not necessarily "meeting quality standards". I generally think I have okay quality, but I'm not too proud to admit that it's not all hits.

It's hard to build up something like that on steem but I hope that you will earn enough to recoup more than 10% of your investments.

I wish I could write as fast as you but at the moment I am as slow as a sloth when trying to write something, mostly because I am searching for the right English words.

I can see that you really like what you are doing and it doesn't have to make sense in a financial way because you enjoy what you are doing (and it's not your main job;). And maybe Steem will rise and so does your income here.
Hmm and because I wanted to get more SBI shares too I am sharing them with you to support your work because I like it when people do what they really love.

Yeah, I'm constantly experimenting on how to get a better return on investment. Some of it comes down to just getting work done. When I hire an artist to make stuff and don't finish the game for a year and a half, that will make the operating budget look bad.

Thanks for the SBI, it's much appreciated. Part of my goal with Steem is to have community engagement, but also to hit a point where some of the budget for Loreshaper Games comes from the company rather than my own pockets.

Some of that is also just an industry problem. Really big A-grade studios have back catalogues and brand recognition, but anyone can make a game. I used to review a lot of them, and I can vouch for the fact that merely getting high quality is not enough to guarantee success.

Posted using Partiko Android

We all have days like this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81