Python 2 or 3?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #programming7 years ago

Hello im a decent programmer in java but im looking to learn the syntax of python.

I have been given a book, but it is in python 2, and it tells you very clearly that you should not use python 3 when doing the exercises.

So my questions are as follows:
Should i learn Python 2 or 3?
What are the advantages?
Can you recommend any books or documents to read?

Thank you in advance.

Sort:  

I prefer Python 3 because Python 2 is going to be officially unsupported in 2020. Not only that a lot of new libraries and modules are going to be only in Python 3. Python 3 is also a tiny bit more syntax that Python 2 but its really good and I and a lot of the community felt it needed it. If you want books I'm not too sure or documents, but a Youtube Channel called Sentdex you can find his channel here he is really popular in the Python Community and check his Python 3 Tutorial here. That's pretty much it! You can check my GitHub, I post python projects that I think are cool I am looking for feedback so check my Steemit and Github. Thanks!

I am a new steemians, maybe i should study first with you, regards know me
https://steemit.com/@movietrailar please follow me
I followed and upvoted.Would you like to follow and upvote me.
DQmRKgYYp1TzWmvqtnfbMSLZQSgUXinUxqyHyd39HZ8j7gx.gifDQmeEhY3iMJiyRhGjAM6aaUDfSuam7F722fD6iwqyWxVBMB_1680x8400.pngU5drhZJbgh8HauKXEXxztDAj5gtKctA.gif

There are still many Python programs and libraries written in Python 2, but Python 3 came out 9 years ago. I don't see any reason for a new developer to stick to 2, to be honest :)

Congratulations @zytar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'd suggest that you should learn Python3. Although there still is much Python2 code around, Python3 is the future, so if you're going to spend time learning one, why not learn the one with the longest future?

Here's some useful links:

This is the official "Python 2 or 3?" page from the Python developers.
https://wiki.python.org/moin/Python2orPython3

This is a free online resource for learning Python3:
http://www.learnpython.org

The Python site has many links to tutorials for beginners and more experienced programmers.
https://wiki.python.org/moin/BeginnersGuide

This is a great online free book, Dive Into Python
http://www.diveintopython3.net

Hope that helps
Rachel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71