You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple versus Complex - on code commenting

in #programming6 years ago

That score system doesn't work at all. They try to open it to all but It collaps with friends scoring :D Then A supervisor come and delete all scores. And add his scores. That means. There is no need to score if you are not supervisor or mod. The system is keep changing. I don't believe anymore it's getting better.

Sort:  

Hey! I'm actually the person responsible for most of this scoring system. And you're not wrong - if a Moderator or a Community Manager reviews a post, it's close to impossible to change the score in any way by yourself. We're aware of that, it was meant to be this way until users of higher reputation come into the picture. This system is meant to be scalable, which means that in the future, when we might have far too many contributions, our moderators will not check each and every post and the community will decide on what should pass and what shouldn't.

That being said, feedback is always welcome, feel free to DM me on discord if you want to talk about it ;).

I hope to see that system work with a larger participant from the community. I think It's a good thing to give control to the community but as you know there will be always abusers who will try to abuse. The mechanism that moderator can cancel the scores is well thought. The human nature is the problem I think. We can't solve that at least I don't have a solution to this bad reflexes. "I don't believe anymore it's getting better." part wasn't about score system. I tried to tell myself in design channel but I don't think I could :) Utopian made me improve in many ways back then. Yes, It improved too with rules and dealing with abusers. But It lost its soul I think. I still can do something and get rewarded if I look a bit how to do. But the real problem I don't want to anymore. Maybe your score system can take it back. I don't know what was it and how utopian lost it. Utopian needs to look back and think sometimes. Thanks for the comminication ;)

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're facing a very difficult time internally and it's sure that a lot of changes are to come. We focused so much on making sure we don't get absued that maybe we really lost the soul of the project. We couldn't see it from our position, but if that's how you feel, I'll make sure this will get discussed on the next occasion.

I hope you'll be back with us eventually ;)!

I hope that too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36