One of those real dumb developer mistakes

in #programming7 years ago

So I have just spent the last 1/2 hour fighting with Visual Studio and ReSharper trying to run some new unit tests I had created.

All the existing tests would run fine, the new tests were being seen in the set runner yet they would not run.

I went through all the standard fixes.

  • Clean the solution
  • Delete ReSharper caches
  • Close the test sessions
  • Refresh project from source control

It was not until I went through all the projects and deleted bin & obj directories that the error became clear, and I felt really really stupid.

Our project has the standard Release and Debug configurations along with DebugUnitTest, which actually pulls in all the unit test projects for the solution.

I had just the standard Debug configuration selected so VS was not pulling in all the tests and hence the new tests were not being built. The reason they appeared in the test list was ReSharper related as it parses the source, hence found them.

One of those classic PBKAC errors... Problem Between Keyboard And Chair :)

Thought I would share

Woz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77