HTML in steemit

I have noticed that steemit has a raw a html option. I have some experience with html and I also know some CSS. Is there a way I can do some of the cool stuff I do with CSS here, or am I limited to the simple html language? If anyone can help me find this out,or know someone that can, make sure to please @ them. CSS can really improve my bland writing and I'm sure who ever reads this post will also benefit. 

-Thank you

Also what is the perfect size picture for it to appear in the preview

Sort:  

No CSS here.
Only basic html. There's also some tricks you can pull off in MarkDown.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptofiend/markdown-basics-for-beginners

Yes you can use a mixture of basic html and markdown.

There are some slightly more advanced features covered here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/new-advanced-formatting-features

You can't use CSS though (at least not yet).

You're everywhere!

UPDATED: previous comment was done on phone. don't know why was gibberish.

The 2 replies here sums up it up. I mostly used HTML and tried CSS but didn't seem to work L since then, I tried Markdown but still the formatting possibilities of HTML prevails :-)

I use both - seems to work best:)

I still Markdown if I do more spontaneous less planned stuff but my Google doc templates are mostly HTML though I had an Addins for rendering Markdown which works well with the HTML too. :-)

I think HTML makes more sense for templates.

Templates are useful. I think even for those who don't use HTML. :-)

Unfortunately, you can't use css, and I would recommend markdown over html anytime :D

That's actually a very good question, whether CSS is applicable to post formatting. Sadly it's not, but markdown gives you more than enough options to work with. Here's the way I write posts.

You can't do squat in HTML here.
Further there are a few things you can do in HTML only
and a few things you can only do in Markdown. (embed video)

You can't even size images.

I see @thecryptofiend has already been here, he's got a writeup there linked.

Lets first start with normal steemit... this is maybe something for the future for me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55