Learn Programming - Brief overview of online resources out theresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #programming8 years ago

If you saw my previous posts you noticed that I am in progress to learn programming, in particular JavaScript.
The motivation to learn JS came after I browsed the website SteemTools.com where I found SteemStream.com (from @roelandp) which is absolutely amazing in my view.

Roeland told me in the steemit.chat that he used mainly HTML, CSS and JS for the front-end. After that I was determined to learn JS as well and looked around for good learning resources.

Up next I have gathered some information about the online resources I used so far.

Free Code Camp

This is a very popular online course. Beside being completely free, it is very comprehensive and you can start learning just HTML and CSS or continue through all modules until you gained the FreeCode Camp Front end developer certification.

Linkedin does recognise Free Code Camp as an university.

Summary

CostNone
Free community chat roomYes
Build in EditorYes
Audio/VideoNo
Project based exercisesYes
Linked to GitHubYes
LanguagesHTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, Node.js, React.js, D3.js


Codecademy

Codecademy is also a free online learning resource with a comprehensive library of programming languages sorted in Modules. Other than with free code camp you get completion badges for individual modules rather than a certification.

Summary

CostNone. Optional Pro plan for quizzes and projects
Free community chat roomNo
Build in EditorYes
Audio/VideoNo
Project based exercisesNo
Linked to GitHubNo
LanguagesHTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, Python, Node.js, jQuery, Ruby, Angular.js, SQL, Java, PHP, React.js, D3.js


Code School

Code School is another popular online learning resource. Like Codecademy the content is sorted in modules and you can get points and badges for each completed module.

Summary

CostYes, subscription 29USD per month
Free community chat roomNo
Build in EditorYes
Audio/VideoScreencasts available for subscribers
Project based exercisesNo
Linked to GitHubNo
LanguagesHTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, Python, iOS, Git, .Net, Ruby, PHP, SQL


Udemy

Other than the previous learning resources, Udemy is not solely for programming languages but also covers other courses rangeing from designing in photoshop to vocal bootcamps.

Summary

CostYes, amount varies per course
Free community chat roomNo
Build in EditorNo
Audio/VideoYes
Project based exercisesYes
Linked to GitHubNo
LanguagesHTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, Python, iOS, Java, Angular, React, Ruby, PHP, SQL


Personal Feedback:

When learning a new language it is important to me that I have the option to ask questions to experienced users. Another important thing for me is to learn on a project based approach as I can't motivate myself otherwise to learn just random unrelated stuff. With that being said Free Code Camp is my personal favourite since it covers all the checkmarks for me. In addition I like to use udemy for visual learning.

I hope this overview was helpful to you. Please let me know your favourite course or experience with other courses.


Sort:  

I am glad to know that there are more resources than Khan Academy and GitHub.

Yes there are more. I haven't looked into Khan Academy yet. Thank you for letting me know.

Wow, you are telling me things I didn't know, I didn't know.

Great, hope it is useful to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69081.21
ETH 3809.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50