The 10 App Project

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

So after brainstorming about the best way to get my ass into gear and complete an app, one Friday night after a bit too much beer mind you, I decided on doing a series where I will create 10 applications from start to finish. I really needed to kick myself into gear so here's my cray, cray iOS app development project where I share with you 10 applications I will build. It's going to be an interesting ride and hopefully you will learn something new or just be entertained by my epic faceplants or maybe I might inspire you to take a 10 App Project challenge with a programming language of your choice! Or as a cautionary tale about how not to plan projects when you are inebriated.

So if you are interested in Swift or programming in general, hopefully my experience will help you or at the very least inspire you to a least learn programming. Please feel free to view the intro to see what this is all about.


So here's some tips and suggestions about how to go about this project and some minor housekeeping comments about my prior videos regarding Swift, as well.
Here are your prerequisites for the project that will make this most beneficial for you:

1. Swift 3.2/4
Being reasonably comfortable with the Swift language will help you so much in this series, especially classes (properties, methods, inheritance) as I won't be going into detail.
Go through concepts that you find challenging by reading the Swift Language Guide:https://developer.apple.com/library/content/documentation/Swift/Conceptual/Swift_Programming_Language/TheBasics.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/TP40014097-CH5-ID309 Or watching tutorials. And practice, practice, practice!

2. Version Control - Git

If you are new to version control, please check out Bitbucket's great tutorial series, because it is truly worth it's weight in gold:  https://www.atlassian.com/git/tutorials/what-is-version-control

Then practice your newfound skills with Github's challenges:  https://try.github.io/levels/1/challenges/1

If you are ready, you can create some mockups.
Here's some awesome information about Balsamiq, if you want to learn more about it and you need something as your artistic ability leaves a bit to be desired:  https://balsamiq.com

And as promised, please check out Apple's awesome tutorial as well:  https://developer.apple.com/library/content/referencelibrary/GettingStarted/DevelopiOSAppsSwift/index.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/TP40015214-CH2-SW1

The app is a place to ideas based on issue or problems user sees and wants to create a solution for, because all the best ideas are those that solve problems or problems that the user didn't know they had. I did leave out the graphic design element, so it's not pretty, but that's not something I'll be covering in this first project, but I will in next one. So if you are interested in that, please see the link at the very bottom about it. Introducing the mockup using Balsamiq. Download Balsamiq for a 30-day trial, if you are artistically challenged like me:
https://balsamiq.com


Please feel free to create your own mockup for your app. If you need more tutorials, they have tons:
Tutorials: https://support.balsamiq.com/tutorials/

Or if you need more, this Zero to App Store course from LearnAppMaking or this really awesome blog post details the process and adding graphic design to the app (this is also where I learned about Balsamiq):
https://learnappmaking.com/how-to-make-an-app/

And when you are ready, download Xcode and let's start building that UI!


Follow me here on Steemit and subscribe on YouTube! I'll be posting to both when I upload parts.

Sort:  

Congratulations @shanij! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57