You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When do whales upvote?

in #programming8 years ago

This was actually much more interesting that I expected, good job :)

I can confirm I don't use a bot to vote for me; it's all done manually by yours truly, at least for now. I'm a bit surprised that I'm a "low upvoting whale" since I feel like I vote a lot, but as I don't use bots or have a team of people curating for me I suppose that's normal.

I'm also trying to refrain from voting on posts that already have $1000+ payouts in order to balance things out a little, so I guess that factors in as well.

Sort:  

Hi Rainman,

its great to see you communicate with us. i think it doesn't matter, if one uses a bot or votes himself.
through you own reading , you will catch more valuable stuff than the bots, the bots on the other hand, will be able to spread more earnings to many authors. so both sides have good and bad aspects.

maybe you could do me a favor and check this out,
https://steemit.com/food/@knozaki2015/britafilters-hacked-read-the-whole-hacking-story-steemit-exclusive

i co-authored it with a friend (100% of the Steem $ going to him) , and this is my piece i think was my best post of all in my Steemit history.

thanks !

Nice to hear you don't use a bot. It was difficult to tell with you because it could have just been (and probably was) the way things averaged out....or you're telling porkies ;)

It makes sense that the bot powered whales are upvoting more. Perhaps that's a good metric to determine if someone is a bot - I can imagine bots upvote more than regular users (and also never post articles). At the same time, I literally just looked at the images to compare them. I wanted to add the total count to each plot, but I'd already generated them and took 30 mins - laziness won. :)

Nice to hear that you hold back on large reward posts. I think a lot of users will be happy to hear that.

You did get my vote nevertheless ;)

I could be telling porkies of course but that doesn't come natural to me so I don't :) My curation rewards probably would've been way higher had I used a bot in any way, and being sick like I was for the last 3-4 days would not have made such a big impact.

I'm fine with the lesser rewards though, and to be honest I feel the system is a bit too skewed towards whale curators at the moment. Us whales working hard to optimize our curation rewards will not help with the distribution issue, so I prefer to take a relaxed attitude towards it.

Your power has grown! Impressive. Most impressive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48