Learning to code in 2017 - Is it even worth it?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #programming7 years ago

So I've thought that I'll be learning to code in a few languages.
1839406_M.jpg
I have started learning HTML, HTML5 and I'm thinking of learning JavaScript , CSS to completely be able to program in HTML .
After I have learned all that, I'd start PHP and mySQL .
So that's six programming languages. SIX!
How much time do you think it will take to master them all?
If we consider the 10000 hour rule, then the answer is a lot.
And that got me thinking if it's even worth the time and effort.
What do you guys think?
Image source: www.pixabay.com

Sort:  

Given that that's how i make my living, I definitely think it is worth it.

I'd recommend diving into Javascript and CSS3. there is a LOT you can achieve if you have a good grounding in those languages.

Learn about Object Oriented programming. if you can get your head around it (and for some it is not easy) then it can turbo charge your programming.

Get good at using Ajax and templating your work. Re-use is a key feature of success.

Don't try to learn by building the next big thing. Go through a few smaller projects first and really develop your style and programming patterns.

Learn to spot patterns in code and how to debug stuff (Firebug is just awesome!) It's a core skill that can make or break a programmer.

But most of all, have fun with it. Because when it is fun, you'll often find that's when you write the best code.

Wow. Thanks for the advice man! Is css3 different than the conventional css ?
I primarily want to design websites so what would be best for me?

CSS3 is like the next evolution of CSS (like HTML5 is the latest evolution of HTML). It has a bunch of cool features like animations etc.
So with just HTML5, Javascript and CSS3 you can make something amazing.
Throw in mySQL and a little PHP and you can build pretty much anything.

I've built everything from tiny widgets to online shopping malls with just those skills. ;-)

Woah. Thanks a lot man. I would definately learn them. Can you also suggest me where I could learn them(possibly for free or minimal amount of money?) and some editors with live preview maybe?

HTML Goodies is a good place to start. That's where I started.
As for editors - I've not used one with a live preview in about 15 years, but Dreamweaver seems to be one of the better ones.

You might like to start with Notepad++ and just refhresh your browser after each lot of edits. It's what I do.
I also do my dev work in Firefox with the Firebug add-on. It is one thing that has totally transformed development. I don't know how I would cope without it now :-) You can do soooo much with it, like live edit any page on the internet to see what effect your changes would have, without actually altering the code.

live edit any page on the internet to see what effect your changes would have, without actually altering the code.

Now that's awesome! Thanks man!
Thanks a lot for your advice. Followed you!

hi Trevor, what exactly is your job title? Can you handle things like this?

  1. We need people with solid back-end skills in a system's programming such as C. Our back-ends are in Golang, but if they know C, then Golang is pretty straight forward.
  2. We need people with experience in nodejs. We use node for web facing stuff and to handle anything that doesn't require Math since JS sucks at Math. This is mostly connector glue logic between different services. Our system speaks JSON and nodejs makes dealing with JSON rather simple. We don't have a lot of node, but what we do have in node is extremely vital.
  3. We need front end developers. These are UI/UX designers with strong, demonstrable skills in HTML5/CSS3/Javascript. We have a strong preference for polymer and cordova/phonegap. Although the new polymer stuff may make that irrelevant, since progressive web-apps can be installed directly on the device without going through an app store or being compiled to native code.
  4. We need people with strong postgres skills. Especially pgplsql, however ORACLE developers with plsql skills will find an easy time of it since the languages are directly related. We use plsql to prototype "chain code", in a local database before pushing it to transaction verification nodes. This gives us a much faster return, since plpgsql and golang are similar enough that the logical flows can be validated and in most cases we can directly convert between the two with the same safety guarantees.

Hello @steemgigs, thanks for thinking of me.
My exact current job title is CodeMonk(ey) - https://webstruxure.co.nz/who-we-are/

While your project sounds interesting, my core skills are in a slightly different area.
I'm a LAMP stack guy (Linux, Apache, mySQL, PHP) with a bunch of HTML5, Javascript and jQuery and a bit of CSS thrown in for good measure.

Lately I have been moving more and more into the front end of things using Ajax to talk to web services on .NET.

Thanks again for getting in touch. I hope you find the developers you are looking for. :-)

No worries, the thing is i don't know much about coding, that is why i had to place those details in the comment. However @vivacoin is evolving and at this point they are working on many projects, including their @tradeqwik platform, so at this point, they have many opportunities and perhaps, a need for what you offer but since i am not a coder, i am hoping the CTO of VIVA checks you out or you can just hop in on the chat: https://chat.vivaco.in. It is very recognizable there since there so many steemians, you will be able to find your way quickly. Else we can announce what you do on there, if you don't mind!

hey, I suggest you lean javascript(not to be confused with java) first, learn some basics then go on to the advanced level. Then try to make simple programs with bootstrap or node.js, you'll build it up real fast!! :DD

You are very correct @fishjojo1 .I started with HTML and got stuck somewhere in between my practicals.

Okay JavaScript it is! Thanks!

Yeah! You can read a few books to get started!
PRO TIP: Always try out the code, reading alone cannot teach you coding!

Doing is learning. Thanks.

It's more worth it now then ever before, I think.

Yeah with all the uplifting comments I now think it is. Thanks.

and the increasing demand for techies in the blockchain circles!

I too want to be a blockchain Dev one day :p

learning to code is always worth it,
you have started with html, and that's okay if you want to be a web developer.. but I suggest you start with c style language if you want to know programming in a deeper level

I want to be a web Dev. So the html way is the way to go I guess.

yeah, indeed
you will see face many more along the way :)

Yeah. Thanks :)

Time spent in coding learning is ever good spent time. I'm sure to be at least 30x times more productive on my linux desktop than the avetage Windows user.

Yeah really want to learn. But I don't have much time :(

In this case you haven't to consider so many languages and try to focus in which is the most important one for you. Even better if it is preparatory for the learning of another one such as html vs css. The 'learning curve' criterion will repay you of your spent time... :-)

I'll have to think about it. I won't really have time after a month or so. Probably won't be able to use steemit either.

Wow, from considering the option of "10000 hour rule" to "I won't really have time after a month or so. Probably won't be able to use steemit either" in just 8 hours!! :-)

I will be dropping for one year to focus on my studies so that I could get into my dream college. So I think I probably won't have time. I'll have to start learning from next year :)

Loading...

Of course it's worth learning to code. Coding is the future.
I use all six programming languages you mentioned, plus a few more.
My Tip for you is to get a basic handle of HTML, CSS & Javascript then learn some basic PHP that will then write your HTML & Javascript (from the server side).
Don't stress out about having so much to learn, just get some basics so you understand the logic and then refer to references when you need something more.
Once you've got a handle of using PHP variables, arrays, IF statements etc. you can then add a MySQL database and learn to store your content or some of it in the database and how to create MySQL queries in PHP to populate the content of your 'server side' created HTML.
I hope that makes sense, I've been doing it for many years now it's all second nature.
Realistically, you can learn all the basics for putting all six languages together in a weekend, perhaps two.
Some free online references:
HTML - www.w3schools.com/html/
PHP - www.w3schools.com/php/
Code Acadamy - codecademy.com
When you get stuck there's help here: stackoverflow.com
All the best and cheers for taking the plunge.

Thanks for your valuable advice.

You are more than welcome.
I love it when people decide to take up coding, and I'd like to be as much help as possible.
Coding opens up a whole new way of seeing the world. Just wait until you get into arrays, you may start seeing the whole world made up of them, which it actually is, but it probably takes a coders mind to see that?
By the way MySQL & PHP require a server to run. So you might like to find a mini server to run locally to practice your coding with, it doesn't have to be on the Internet.
There is quite a few to choose from if you search for them online.
I've used Uniform Server (uniformserver.com), an apache server including MySQL that runs on Windows, for well over ten years. I can recommend that one, only because I know it well.
Of course if you run Linux you have way more options.
All the best to you and If I can help anytime, just give me a hoy.

Thanks again man! So I have to install uniform server on my pc?

In the case of Uniform Server, yes, but it's not an actual install, unless you want to run it as a service when your machine starts up.
You can run it from a USB key too and that way you can run it on any other Windows machine.
There is some configuration that can be done depending on your requirements, but basically, in most cases, just unzip it to a drive and run it, that's it.
It also includes PhpMyAdmin which as a pretty good GUI for the MySQL server.

Oh thanks for the clarification :)

Hey dude. So did you ever come up with anything here? did you come up with some findings on which programs you decided to start with? Im looking to start programming too but not really sure where to begin?

I started JavaScript as I already had some knowledge of html and want to develop websites..So think about what you want and choose accordingly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59388.60
ETH 2528.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50