You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to get started with programming

in #programming8 years ago (edited)

I read your original answer, so will answer it...
To answer you, my comment after a downvote has nothing to do with my ego. I simply felt bad about using it, therefore I left a comment, not to be rude, and give you a chance to get a feedback 'why'. Unfortunately, Steemit does not allow us to leave a reason of the downvote - which I think would be useful and fair. My eyes are bleeding is just a figure of speech (a hyperbole).
Briefly, why:

  • Ubuntu is Linux (coma is a logic mistake, which hints you may not be fully aware the subject you try to discuss)
  • Knowledge about Linux (e.g. Ubuntu) is a completely different topic from programming - it is not "these are basics, I mentioned advanced one, lol" - No. These are different areas of knowledge.
  • Ruby on Rails (RoR) is an example of a web application framework one of many, completely useless to anyone else than Ruby programmers. Additionally I would say: not "advanced" at all (but it is just an opinion).

You did not mention algorithms, programming paradigms, any good programming practices etc, which would actually bring a value to this discussion. Instead, you were just throwing random terms and laughing like it was any kind of 'next level'. I think this comment was irrelevant, contained logic mistakes and showed bad attitude.
I would love to see Steemit growing and become a source of knowledge to its users. There are great posts around from a variety of disciplines and there is a lot of potential here. On the other hand, a kind of behavior expressed in your post is the one, I would like to see gone for a greater good. So I used my downvote as a hint for you and to 'help it disappear' from this topic.
It is why it is a 'downvote', not a 'report' or 'flag' anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49