You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to get started with programming

in #programming8 years ago (edited)

It is my first downvote ever. Sorry for that, it is not 'personal' but my eyes are bleeding. If you feel your comment does not deserve it, please sent me a message on Steemit chat - I will explain it to you in details (don't want to start an offtopic here).

EDIT: Dear Reader, before you continue, you should know that together with @jtstreetman, we have already discussed this situation. It was quite unfortunate, you can ignore all comments below, it is not worth your time. ( @jtstreetman also changed the comment above and I removed my downvote)

Sort:  

@radoslaw You Rock !, glad we got that ironed out, very good !

tried chatting, no response

I read your original answer, so will answer it...
To answer you, my comment after a downvote has nothing to do with my ego. I simply felt bad about using it, therefore I left a comment, not to be rude, and give you a chance to get a feedback 'why'. Unfortunately, Steemit does not allow us to leave a reason of the downvote - which I think would be useful and fair. My eyes are bleeding is just a figure of speech (a hyperbole).
Briefly, why:

  • Ubuntu is Linux (coma is a logic mistake, which hints you may not be fully aware the subject you try to discuss)
  • Knowledge about Linux (e.g. Ubuntu) is a completely different topic from programming - it is not "these are basics, I mentioned advanced one, lol" - No. These are different areas of knowledge.
  • Ruby on Rails (RoR) is an example of a web application framework one of many, completely useless to anyone else than Ruby programmers. Additionally I would say: not "advanced" at all (but it is just an opinion).

You did not mention algorithms, programming paradigms, any good programming practices etc, which would actually bring a value to this discussion. Instead, you were just throwing random terms and laughing like it was any kind of 'next level'. I think this comment was irrelevant, contained logic mistakes and showed bad attitude.
I would love to see Steemit growing and become a source of knowledge to its users. There are great posts around from a variety of disciplines and there is a lot of potential here. On the other hand, a kind of behavior expressed in your post is the one, I would like to see gone for a greater good. So I used my downvote as a hint for you and to 'help it disappear' from this topic.
It is why it is a 'downvote', not a 'report' or 'flag' anymore.

and btw, you did not try to catch me on chat, don't lie ;)

There's a "broken telephone" part here. he DID try to catch you on DM... but he could not figure out how.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81