Type-Driven Development / Idris 1

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Hello programmers and mathematically inclined folks of steemit!

In the second half of this year, I will go through the newly released book Type-Driven Development with Idris, thereby introducing coding with a purely functional dependently typed programming language.

Nikolaj-K Idris

Dependent types have a bunch of ramifications. I initially became interested in it because of the Curry-Howard correspondence, enabling one to use constructive formal logic - which is conventionally used to express set theory and bootstrap all of mathematics - at the type level. But there's more...


As a side note, In my second post I had just asked about code presenting practices on steemit, to make this a proper series, and I'm thankful for pointers.

Take care!

Sort:  

Excited to see a post on Idris. It is such a fascinating language. It's a language that really makes you rethink what is possible in programming. I look forward to reading/watching your series.

Cool, thanks. I've got 5 videos done and the plan for the next 5 written down. I'll start on a very basic level and then take off to styles you can't have in other languages :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50