Creator of Golang, Rob Pike: "Concurrency is Not Parallelism"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #programming6 years ago

Being a Computer Science student, recently I have become motivated to build my own blockchain. I am a participant in the Honors Club at my local community college which requires a capstone project to be completed as a requisite to receiving my 2-year degree.

go-gopher-1-220x300.jpg

Guided mostly by my ambition, I aim to create a decentralized application relating to education, perhaps involving the integration of separate emerging technologies. I'm sure you could think of some use-cases yourself. Artificial Intelligence and Internet of Things are two subjects off the top of my head which could potentially work extremely well with blockchain technology.

While searching for build-your-own blockchain implementations on GitHub I stumbled upon this tutorial written in Go: https://github.com/mycoralhealth/blockchain-tutorial

I have little experience with the Go programming language so I spent a lot of time reading documentation and watching videos. During my exploration I found this talk by the creator of Golang, Rob Pike.

I found this video to be fascinating which is my reason for sharing it. Additionally I will provide a link to a paper mentioned during the lecture, "Communicating Sequential Processes": https://www.cs.cmu.edu/~crary/819-f09/Hoare78.pdf

I will leave you with a quote from the lecture...

"Conceptually, this is really how you think about running things in parallel...you don't think about it by running in parallel, you think about how you break the problem down into independent components that you can separate and understand and get right and then compose to solve the whole problem together."

-Rob Pike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84