You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Every programmer should check out Smalltalk-80 at some point in their life (Tutorial inside)

in #programming6 years ago

Excellent Article @crypticwyrm, Smalltalk is truly an amazing programming language. I've used it since 1984 when I got ahold a Smalltalk-80 version for the Macintosh Plus from Apple for USD$50.00. Still have the disks. The first time I learned of it was the Scientific American article in 1979 if I recall. Then of course the Byte Magazine 1980 August issue had indepth coverage with many articles.

Pharo Smalltalk is of course an excellent Smalltalk derived from Smalltalk-80 and a bit cleaner and more tidy than Squeak which is also quite good.

How are you using Smalltalk today?

Sort:  

Thanks! I haven't used Smalltalk in years so I don't have any current projects in Smalltalk, but I've recently started to look into it again because I've been missing it :) I've been following the development of Brick and other projects to improve Pharo's GUI programming abilities with great interest, hopefully at some point in the future I'll be able to use it as a real alternative to current mainstream technology to write modern cross platform Desktop apps. That's where my main focus lies, consumer desktop apps. And websites, but for that I'm really happy with ClojureScript and Reagent now. I will look into PharoJS though when I find the time. I tried Amber Smalltalk before, will be interesting to see how it compares to that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61354.39
ETH 3309.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47