A Morning Getting an IDE for C#/C++

in #programming8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians

This morning I was up nice and early. To start I had a quick bit of breakfast and coffee before taking my sister to the train station.

Since I've been back all I've done is drink more coffee, smoke cigs and look at IDE's.

I'd decided over a cig and brew that I wouldn't mind having an IDE for c++ programming.

I started with the IDE that I'd used back in uni. We used Unity3D as the courses main game engine and it was distrobuted with two IDE's, one which was basically notepad or similar to notepad++ and the other monodevelop. I found monodevelop to be the better of the 2 and was much better environment for developing in. I also recently install monodevelop onto my parrot memory stick.

From what I can remember it was a great environment with the ability to compile and run C/C++/C# and that is exactly what I'd like.

I downloaded and install the software, but first I had to install .NET 4.5 and before that I needed MS build tools 2013. Oddly enough once 2013 was installed I needed MS build tools 2015? puzzled but not bothered I got 2015 install aswell. Then I could finally install the .NET framwork and carry on installing monodevelop, sort of. I then need the GTK# for .NET and then with that I could install monodevelop.

In the documentation and from what I remember it would be fine, the C languages are an option. Until it is installed, I open it and start a fresh project.

At this point I realised that the monodevelop website had me download and install Xamarin, which I am guessing is monodevelop but it ogt taken over. I also noticed that c++ was not one of my options for my new project. Confused and slightly annoyed I started the project as c# to see if any of the rest of the environment had changed much and from what I can see nothing major. It does seem majorly targeted at mobile app development in c#.

Confused and lacking all the options I didn't know what to do other than check the internet for c++ ide's and well Netbean came up. An ide I remember seeing but not using while at uni, so that is now also installed and far easier than installed mono-Xamarin. Sadly I give it a quick trail and compiling/setting up project isn't that simple or at least not for me this morning.

Maybe I can get Xamarin/Monodevelop to include c++ project by installing an addin or something. If I can I will and I should be happy with it, otherwise I'm not sure whast going on or why it is the way it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40