You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The best tools to create interactive fiction, text adventures and visual novels, with or without programming knowledge

in #programming7 years ago

Is this software only for creating apps, or could it also be used to create an interactive e-book in one of the recognizable ebook formats? I would be interested in trying this, but I have doubts that I would be able to publish it as an app because my technical knowledge is virtually non-existant.

Sort:  

With Twine and Ink you can output the story as a website and the epub ebook format for example is just a website with files named in a certain format and an index put into a zip file and renamed to .epub. So it should actually be possible, but I have never tried it so I don't know how to do it and from doing a bit of Googling this is quite a complex task, you'd need to know a bit of web development for sure to figure this out.

You might want to look into Inklewriter by the same people who made Ink which I covered in my post, it is as easy to use as Twine and apparently for a fee of $10, they convert your story to an ebook for you. I didn't find any mention of this on the website but people are talking about that on the Twine forum here.

As for publishing on App stores, yeah you are going to need to know a bit about web development here too. So if you ever made a website with HTML/CSS/JavaScript you'd be fine, but if you didn't then you'd have quite a bit to learn. If you do go down that route, from Googling the issue a bit, most people seem to be using Adobe Phonegap (based on Apache Cordova) to publish their Twine stories for smartphones.

Thanks for the lengthy response. I will check out Inklewriter.

You're welcome. It's weird that I didn't find any app that could just do this at the click of a button so you don't need to know anything. I'll have to Google that a bit more. I might write an app like that myself sometime if I can't find anything. If I should find anything or create one myself, I'll get back to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31