What a self taught programmer learned from each of his apps

in #programming7 years ago

I've written a bit before about the why I taught myself to develop apps, but today I'd like to share with you the how and what I learned from each one. I taught myself entirely from home without even so much as a mentor or a prompting so I want to show you anybody can do this. It's just a matter of effort, time and learning.

I think each app has an interesting story.

So my first, very first app was a game called Polar Roller. Don't judge me I had only been developing for a couple of weeks at that point. But there's a vey important lesson I think all of you can take away from it which is don't be afraid to start. Just do it, learn what you can from youtube and any other source available and try to slap some code together that will do something close to what you want it to do. Learn why it fails, read more, get something out there and learn how you can iterate in the future. You don't start with your moonshot, change the world idea, just try making the digital equivalent of a fidget spinner and fuck around with some arrays or something else you'd like.

Don't put off doing something until tomorrow because you're afraid it won't be perfect. Especially if it's your first project.

My second was nevermissing. An app to connect family members and friends all on one GPS map! Just from having done Polar Roller before I was at least in the habit of coming up with ideas for icons. It's a complete failure of a buggy mess I was in over my head with API's, from social media to google maps, equations to account for earths curvature, attempted 3d graphics, but so much of what was written for it was improved and worked on in future projects it's worth the time spent.

With Ultragamer I learned how to listen to the market what it's demanding and to try to build solutions to their problems. Many people were having a problem with journalism in gaming so I built a solution that was a simple RSS reader to quality sites. Very simple. Still didn't have the UI thing down back then but it was something that could connect people to something they were searching for. It reminded me how important users are.

Distress Alarm is where you can see the lessons from all of those previous apps come together, a user first design to solve a real serious problem, from fentanyl and opioid overdoses to people with heart failure and other medical issues to people that might be victims of violence this is an app that has a purpose and has helped a lot of people.

I learned UI is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good it brings in and finally fixes the lessons learned from nevermissing. But sometimes simplicity s more important than simply having a ton of features. Especially with an emergency app. Nobody wants to feel they might need to call 911 due to an impending heart attack or being the victim of spousal abuse and be presented with a facebook login screen.

Somebody being chased and needs to know where a nearby police station is RIGHT NOW doesn't want an app that's slow to launch or doing anything that's not giving you that information. So that was where I spent a lot of time with UI, optimization and making everything work the same for IOS and android.

From there I went on to Chasing Cars
Toying with the idea of disruption or at least allowing users to compare different rates between lyft and uber instead of being locked into one app. I think one issue that hurt it is the app permissions have to be enabled manually to launch on some phones.

My Bible Android there is a clear evolution of what was begun with ultragamr. Except instead of gaming news it was a simple way to read the Bible. Many in my family are religious so I wanted to make something for them. For many newer apps I learned how to repurpose old code for new solutions.

Deep Sea was another game, a matching game this time but learning new things about game design, learning curves it was the type of fun, free to play, non-microtransaction ridden game for children I always wanted to make.

Travelwiki We once again see ideas from Nevermissing used. It's funny what I'd consider to be one of my biggest failures is also one of my biggest sources for future wins. That's how life is sometimes. It teaches me it's not about how you get knocked down but what you take from it when you get back up!

oko is far from my final app but a nice bookend. It doesn't look like much has changed on the surface, it's as minimalist as polar roller another game about tapping to manipulate a ball but so much changed in coding skill from Polar that barely compiles and code not even I understand to actually knowing what I was doing and some principals and practices at play. It's the 3 year improvement only I'll ever see.

You guys get the idea at this point, and like I said I have 0 hours of formal training. I just got in and got dirty and you can too! These types of lessons apply for any creative, just do it. Get out there, do it, learn something and keep striving to improve, meet people's needs, and building towards the future. Treat your first project like it's your last and your last like it's your first!

Sort:  

your post is so inspirational. i myself have just started making apps and sometimes i just want to gave up. But thats where my passsion is. so i keep learning and try to make the best app possible

The best way of starting is just starting. That's what I always tell everyone

I really enjoyed this post. You inspired me to try my hand at programming again. Keep it up! I'll keep a weather eye for your content.

This is really a great post. I looked at a couple of the apps; I'll have to go through and check out some more later.

I really like the message though, just get started. It's the same with writing. I think a lot of people never write their book because they feel like it has to be THE book, the book to end all books, no one will need to read again after reading this book... No, that doesn't exist, just create something.

It makes perfect sense to people that they would have to practice throwing a basketball, but they still think their creative work has to be perfect the first time, every time.

Congratulations @jmillerworks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

thank's to share those informations and videos with us , devp application is the best field for me , I have followed you !

Wonderful read. Makes me want to keep trying. I have no college training whatsoever. I am learning to recognize different sections of coding and can change certain variables to adjust results. And thats in Python. With c+ and c++ i get so lost. I have some big ideas for some cryptocurrency wallets that i would like to bring to the public just need to learn how. Since u learned the way i am learning.. Wanted to pick your brain sometime. Wanted to see if maybe u could help explain things in maybe easier terms or show me the way you related what you are coding to your thought process. If too busy i understand.. But either way at least got a little boost here knowing it can be done the same way i am doin. Thanx bruv. Much love from this direction.

What tools did you use to build your apps? From software to hardware, what are the requirements to get started?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47