You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When do whales upvote?

in #programming8 years ago

Oh, man, @bitcalm. Your posts never cease to amaze me. I don't know if it's just because you're posting topics that I can relate to or are interested in, but you get all my upvotes. I've been meaning to code something like this for a while now, but opted to experiment posting on different times with different kinds of content. This post is very insightful and is shaping up to be one of my most favorite posts in Steemit so far. I guess an improvement to this is to factor in the tags or types of post they upvote along with their voting time. This really has a potential to analyze whale voting behavior.

By the way, @complexring is 100% human, and an accomplished mathematician. As to why his voting behavior looks like that, I'm not sure. But, he's a cool guy who has an inclination to fiction posts.

Sort:  

@bitcalm nailed it on this post. I would love to see this trend month over month!

Right you are!

Good to know @complexring is human. Hope he figure out the sleep problem ;) Actually, it'd be cool to have a mathematician weigh in on this. Can you pass the link on?

👍nice showing graphics to know @bitcalm

100% Proof Pokemon Go End Game Connection to DARPA CIA Google NSA Skynet Illuminati Fema Spy Grid

https://steemit.com/cia/@cryptocurrency1/100-proof-pokemon-go-end-game-connection-to-darpa-cia-google-nsa-skynet-illuminati-fema-spy-grid

I was giggling as I read, wondering if any of the possibly-a-bot-but-really-a-human whales were rethinking their sleep schedules.

The more you know :)

Sure thing! I hope he replies on this thread with his thoughts

What @jedau said. I've been posting whenever and wherever I can since I've got to wait about 2 weeks to get internet at my house, so parking lot hopping with free wifi has been my life the last few days since I moved. Yay Me! Anyway - I saw your list of bots and I'm thinking, "Well, I'm a frikken idiot" because I've been seeking those usernames out and trying to engage...maybe get on their radar...and I might as well be talking to my stereo. sigh I kind of have to laugh at myself. LOL

It's good you were notified they were bots before you got emotionally invested in them LOL :D seriously though, great effort trying to find places to post from. I really hope that my upvote for you was worth more but sadly it isn't.

That made me laugh.

You're welcome. I'm glad you enjoy my posts. This one took a bit more effort than the others, but it was a lot of fun. It's only touching the surface of the kind of statistical analysis you can do on the blockchain.

Good for you for blazing the trail. Personally, I've been mostly scared of making any analysis out of fear of making a mistake and being criticized for it. I really hope posts like this gain some traction to increase the confidence of people like myself. I agree that there are tons of insights to be mined.

Everyone makes mistakes. Hopefully if there's a mistake someone spots it, and I learn from it.

Yeah, I guess so. Maybe it comes down to strength of character regarding that aspect. Though I do appreciate criticism directed my way, using them as a means to improve.

Do you think you could find out the general topics they upvote on? Not really because I want to posting about those topics but more to see the direction in which steem it might be heading in. After all the whales are the curators of steem.

I think there was already a post that covered this. I can't remember who it was by. It covered the tags they upvote in most.

Producing stats for topics based on the content would be a bit harder. You could try a keyword based approach with clustering, but that'd be a lot of work for some shaky results. Fun to do if you have the time for it :)

Data is beautiful.

I agree with this wholeheartedly. If only data wasn't shared by all, I would've put a ring on it instantly. That's how much I like it.

Wow that was way to dam helpful !! OK if anyone agrees smash dat mfcking up vote! Also how has this helped others??

The upvote button for this post has been so smashed, I don't know if we could even resuscitate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51