You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to get started with programming

in #programming8 years ago (edited)

Learning to program is like learning to oil paint... most don't' do the art justice.

That being said, I whole heartedly agree with 4... if I do something twice I'm annoyed. If I do it 3 times I'm down right pissed off a computer didn't do it the last two times for me.

Programming = automation = facilitation. I shouldn't have to do math (though I can do math with the best of them) and I sure as shit shouldn't have to do math twice...

When I code the objective is the computer is my bitch and it works for me...

Sort:  

I think you touch on an important point here: there is the "it provides an income" side to programming but also the art and creative side.

The debate of whether everyone should learn to code is a difficult one. I personally don't think everyone needs to be able to code, must as much as not everyone needs to know plumbing; that said, if you enjoy the learning process, the skill can come in handy even if you only use it for small tasks and not as a source of income.

In my experience probably only 5% of the CompSci students, undergrade or grad school, really got it and were elegant and skilled at writing code or designing an architecture. The rest were just able to functionally regurgitate a learned skill if at all

The big debate is whether they functionally are unable to get it or if they just lack passion, drive and motivation. I'm undecided on whether programmers think differently or are fundamentally "special". I tried to find research on this a while back but couldn't find anything

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52