Life is a circus and your the juggler.

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

Weird title... I know.

Lunch hour thoughts


I'm trying to get a little more momentum again in regards to writing. Not just on Steem but in general.

Encapsulating thoughts in writing is a really powerful thing and well worth the effort.

I know this, but actually sitting down to write is another story. My life has got very busy over the last few months, having my first child, starting a new job, organising a tech meet up and going back to school have meant not much time for writing.

That's all an illusion, the hard part is actually getting over the initial thought of having to write, you might have an idea at given point in the day ( or night ) and think, "that would be a great topic" and when you sit down to write about it that ideas is gone ( another reason why writing stuff down is important ). Ideas are ephemeral they come and go, they are bubbles from your consciousness, they can be beautiful but they don't stick around for long.

I'm writing this on my lunch break on a whim, I'm making the effort rather than browse the posts, but to contribute to them. I actually have no topic in mind, but I just wanted to get over the hump and write a post.

I have some goals in mind in regards to improving as a programmer for the next few months and this is an open call if anyone would like to help/get involved with them.

  • develop some sort of steemit app
  • work more with node and data
  • learn how to visualize data.
  • learn a new programming language

By help/get involved I mean point me in the right direction share tips or advice etc or collaborate on a project. It would be great to help grow the community of devs on here and see what happens.

To give a little background on who I am and my current skill level, I have been programming for about a year, but have a real love for it and I've made it a personal mission to be the best I can at it.

I don't want to learn how to code, I want to get good at the art of coding, writing smart solutions to difficult problems. I have just started my first job as a developer and I'm hoping this will give me boost and increase my skill level. Although right now I'm still wrapping my head around the enormous codebase. I know it will get easier with time. I've discovered that reading code is a very different skill to writing it.

Thanks for reading and don't hesitate to get in touch if you have any thoughts or ideas that line up with my current goals, it's always nice to connect with those who are on a similar path.

A penrose triangle because nothings impossible, except impossibility in it's purest form:

rsz_penrose_.png

Sort:  

Just saw this. Good to write your goals out. Thanks for your contributions to our Steemit discussion at the Tech Meetup!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69081.21
ETH 3809.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50