I wrote a simple pseudonym generator

in #programming4 years ago

I love writing, and I like writing software as well. I started with C before 2000 but nowadays I mostly create JavaScript projects.

The logical approach, the long periods of staring at the screen, deciphering cryptic errors in the Browser console, solving problems I brought upon myself — I really dig software development!

In 2009 I made a little app that has been used millions of times, mostly by German-speaking users. It's called "Künstlernamen Generator". You can create pseudonyms with it and it's used by writers, authors, and all kinds of artists who wish to remain anonymous in the publishing process.

The Pseudonym Generator

Yesterday, I slapped together the English version, aptly named "pen name generator": https://frjk.de/pen-name-generator/

It's very basic right now but I intend to add a few more useful features over the course of the next few months.

Regarding the code: It's super-simple and I'm almost too embarrassed to reveal the secret.

I'm basically (ab)using the Math.random() function to get two random names, including the surname.

steemit-pen-name-generator-frjk.png

It's sloppy and not very random at all. But due to the amount of possible combinations (thousands of names, thousands of surnames), the output generated by my little pseudonym generator seems random enough. The next version will (just as the German counterpart) use array shuffling, though, specifically the Fisher-Yates shuffling method.

See: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/2450954/how-to-randomize-shuffle-a-javascript-array

See also: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fisher-Yates_shuffle

Other things I plan to include

I know this is far from perfect software. But it's a start and I decided that, instead of fine-tuning the app for months, I'd just gather some feedback as soon as possible.

This is what I've planned for the future of my pen name generator:

  • statistics
  • an improved save & load system
  • check available social media handles
  • more names
  • more options to customize the pseudonym output
  • lots more useful functionality

What are your thoughts?

I appreciate your feedback 😊

You can reach me here or on Twitter: https://twitter.com/molekulo85

Sort:  

removed

Thanks for your feedback :)

Very nice, and thank you ... I write in a BUNCH of different genres, and so since this year I'm focusing on publication, I may need to generate some names...

Yeah, go wild with the generator. There are literally millions of combinations possible.

Congratulations @frjk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40