Adventures in Development: Sprint Planning

in #programming8 years ago

Jared

Hi there! This is what I've learned recently regarding software development project management and the utility of sprints and stories. Please let me know if you have any insights regarding this process. I would love to hear them!

Sprints

  • Decide length of sprint: Typically ranges anywhere from a week to a month.
  • Set number of hours for show-able work for each sprint.
  • A planning session is conducted before each sprint and work estimates are assigned.

Stories

  • Each sprint consists of stories which are actions that describe something to be implemented. (See example below.)
  • Points are assigned to stories during the planning session and represent the hours of show-able work.

Standup

  • These are meetings scheduled periodically during the sprint to communicate progress to the team.
  • Personal Approach: Try to keep updates brief as you provide a summary of work. I typically break this down to a "good news" item and a "bad news" item in regards to the story I am working on. I then follow with an aspect I did well and an aspect that I would like to improve as far as my performance between this standup and the next.

Additional Information

How do you use Trello for Agile Development
Example Template on Trello

#Programming #Development #Trello #Agile

Sort:  

Here is an Archive of Cryptocurrency App building Code on Github for anyone creating a Steemit app
https://steemit.com/steem/@marsresident/github-cryptocurrency-app-creation-archive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64259.11
ETH 3172.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56