Clarify your API! [#2 Programming Blog]

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

How do you let users of your Application Programming Interface (API) know how it works?



api-docs.jpg

Groceries

A while ago, I've been working on an online groceries list application! This list allows you to share multiple different groceries lists with other users of your app. To add users to your own list, you'd add them as a friend.

Front- and back-end

I, myself, found it useful to document the way of communicating this feature between the front- and back-end. The communication had to be online, so it was necessary to use both front- and back-end applications obviously. They're written in Android and Java, respectively. I might write more about those later on, depending on which you'd like me to!

backand_frontand.png

Anyway, here's the document in which I describe how to communicate finding a friend in the database.

Screenshot from 2017-05-30 21-51-26.png

Using this format, it's extremely clear for anyone who wants to use your API to know how it works! You can use this format yourself, click here for this document, and here for a clean template!

(Additionally, here's the link to all the documents I used at the time!)

Do you like this type of content?

Make sure to upvote & follow for more!

What should I do next?

Let me know in the comments!

More!

If you liked this post, check out this post on my Android app!

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, and I look forward to seeing you in the next one!



steem_success.jpg

In my first few posts, I'll continue to add my verification photo at the end, for the people who missed my introduction post.

Me_introduction.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69