You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Easy Tutorial: Computer Programming for DUMMIES -- very easy!

in #programming8 years ago

Charlie if you are not following me you should. Not because you need to follow me, but because the things I post on are complimented by your posts. I am not interested in teaching the basics of programming. I'm deep diving into game development and I assume the people that will be doing coding on my tutorials know at least the basics of coding. I am however, currently making an intermediary theoretical post to accompany my Turing Test post and I am pointing them to ALL of your tutorials if they need to follow the basics.

My tutorials are for gamedev in Unity as such I am using C#. That means pointers and such are not particularly useful, but pretty much everything else in C++ carries over. You can use pointers C# if you set your code to unsafe, but I am not going to teach that. (BTW - I miss my pointers... I could do a lot of cool stuff with pointers faster than I can without them)

Sort:  

Hey, that is really great! Thanks a lot! You got a follow! I'll be sure to give you some shout outs back in case the basics bore anybody on my posts to death, haha! Just note that I am not doing tutorials about EVERYTHING, just a lot of the useful basics. For example, I never really explained comments. There are plenty of websites that will teach every single little thing about C++. I'm just trying to cover a lot of things that I think are useful and make it available on Steemit. If you have any suggestions, I'm open. I've been doing C++ because it is super easy for beginners. I can do more C, or anything you think would help people before they get to your tutorials. Just let me know and we can kind of collab.

I personally am language agnostic. I've programmed in so many of them over the years. Yet any of my game development tutorials will be in C#. That is because, currently I choose to use Unity and the choices are C#, a modified version of Javascript (called Unity Script), and a variant of python called Boo. C# has a lot more functionality than the others. I also tend to come from a C, C++ environment so C# other than not getting to use pointers is pretty similar.

I did not want to do computer programming basic tutorials so I am glad you chose to go that route. :) I actually linked all of your tutorials in one of my posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.52
ETH 3002.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12