Teach Yourself Programming with Enki - [Daily Training]

in #programming7 years ago

Resources #6.png


The motto of this mobile app is 'The 5-minute daily workout for your dev skills'. I know of enki for a few months now, but I only started playing with it more consistently just a few days ago. Let me give a briefing of its most important features.

First, this is interactive learning, which in my opinion, is far better than passive learning where you only digest/receive information without getting to interact with it.

The skills that you can currently develop with Enki are:

  • JavaScript
  • Java
  • Python
  • Computer Science
  • CSS
  • Linux
  • Git

Screenshots_2017-08-25-19-39-12.png

There may be more of them with the paid version of the app. But, I'm only using the free version and I think it's sufficient.

Every day I receive a so called workout, which takes 5 minutes and I am being introduced to a new concept. I am provided with code examples and descriptions of the concepts (for example, the datetime module, the math module, or even classes in Python) and then I receive a short 'fill-in-with-the-code' test to strengthen the knowledge of the concept.

Screenshots_2017-08-25-19-41-50.png

Additionally, sometimes when I open the app the next day, I am given a very short test of the concepts learned the day before. Plus, there are code games that are you are unlocking as you go through the 'workouts'. And these are very fun too.

If this sounds interesting, go ahead and download the free app on your iOS or Android. Learn more at enki. And if you know of similar apps, please share them in the comments below.


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

cool app! I will try it to improve my C#, Python skills and I will learn JavaScript with it :D

Our English teacher always says, "Five minutes a day keeps the bad marks away."

well said!

been looking for something like this (interactive dev environment on a mobile app).

this service looks nice and in time i just want to learn java
thanks for sharing

thanks!

This kind of app looks really cool !
However I feel like there are limits too :-/
I believe that you learn a lot while practicing (for example trying to code a small app)
For me this app seems cool to learn a few basics, then you will have to practice in order to really learn :-)

We can recall and stimulate our programming knowledge using this app. Thanks, @cristi for sharing!

Cool app. Thanks. Followed.

Follow me @codero

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36