Most Voted Authors - Weekly Report for Sept. 20 - Sept. 26

in #programming8 years ago

This is my sixth weekly analysis of the steem blockchain with Python.

These numbers are for the time period between Sept. 20 (beginning of the day) and Sept. 26 (end of the day).

Special thanks to: @bitcalm, @furion, @heimindanger, @trogdor and @xeroc for providing inspiration for the Python code behind this report.


Most Voted Authors - September 20 - September 26

Outline of the process:

1. I collect usernames for high-power voters (about 50 whales) from @heimindanger website
2. I used Python to analyze their votes. I included only the votes made on posts (ignore comment votes: if permlink[:3] != "re-")

I only analyzed whale votes due to their heavy weight. If all the votes from all users would have been included, the situation might look different (but the payout would not be affected though).

That being said:

Number of High-Power Votes Received by Authors - Plot

Number of High-Power Votes Received by Authors - Table

Number of High-Power Votes Given - Plot

Number of High-Power Votes Given - Table


Total number of high-power votes given this week: 9730.
Total number of high-power votes given last week: 8601.
Total number of high-power votes given two weeks ago: 8159.


Curie has made it to the first place, reflecting the efforts focused on user retention - finding new users and giving them an impulse.

The overall dynamics of the 'most voted authors' list is not much different from last week. We can see the same trends, some users falling from, others joining, and a few that are consistent.

Looking at past data, whales have been more active in voting - two weeks ago compared to this week - 8159 votes vs. 9730 votes. It's almost 20% increase over two weeks, which I think is also good.

I still hold my personal opinion with respect to the trending page - that I'd like to see more good science posts instead of the pseudoscience that's there almost everyday...


The Code

The python code to power these analyses is in my github. You may use, modify, or adapt it as you please.

If you have ideas for other similar analytics, please suggest them below.


Ending thoughts

If you are a newbie and still have trouble understanding steemit, here are two of my reading suggestions to help you:

The first one is the two-part post from @donkeypong, about the Steemit 101 ebook:

Steemit 101 e-book released for free (Part 1)
Steemit 101 e-book released for free (Part 2)

The second one is a recent FAQ created by @thecryptofiend:

The Missing FAQ - A Beginners Guide To Using Steemit


To stay in touch, follow @cristi

#programming #stats #steemit #analytics


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Some main posts may start with "Re: " in their title. steemtools has a more accurate helper for detecting if a post is comment or not.

will you tell me or let me discover it myself? :)

The correct way to is the compare the comment's id to its root_comment - if those numbers are the same, the current transaction in the block is a post; however, this requires getting the post content, which isn't so handy. @furion's method works without that.

thank you!

I usually just check for comment's parent_author, if it's empty, I presume I'm looking at a top level post

Awesome Post , i followed you so keep on posting! You might be interested in following me :)

Did you consider voting weights?

I havent. I'm still trying to think of a good way to include that...to repurpose the algorithm in that way.

Please :) since some accounts including me are participating in Curie so they vote for many posts with partial weights, and this may change your results.

in terms of code, it shouldn't be difficult to do it. what I'm not sure is how to 'table' or categorize it. if you have any ideas of how a table with your specifications should look like, please let me know.

This is nice but what is a high power vote?
I upvoted and followed you, is that what you mean?

nope, high power vote is a vote coming from a whale (a user with very high steem power). check some of the accounts of the high power users and you will see.

your vote did not add much to the reward of my post, probably 0.01 SBD. if one high-power users votes my post ith 100% of their power, that could 50 SBD or much more. if you are a new users, please check the reading recommendations to get more familiar with the platform.

Yes ok i will do that. I am new its my first day here but i was reading about it before i got here and trying to learn all i can. Your explaination was helpful thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39