Machine Learning from Udacity - [Long Course]

in #programming7 years ago

Resources #4.png


This is probably one of the best times to learn and practice machine learning. The abundance of high quality resources is incredible. Really, I don't think I can stress this enough. The only requirement is time and the ability to go through discomfort and put on the effort that is required for learning and developing any skill; many of the resources are free, so, there is no excuse. This is what I tell myself when I'm lured into procrastination.

The one that I'm gonna suggest today is Intro to Machine Learning from Udacity, which is an intermediate level course taught by Sebastian Thrun, a pioneer in the field, and Katie Malone. The course is free. If you seek recognition and credentials for finishing the course, you'd probably have to enroll in the Data Analyst nano-degree.

Here's some of what's included inside:

  • Naive Bayes algorithms
  • Support Vector Machines
  • Decision Trees algorithms
  • Regressions
  • Clustering
  • Feature Scaling
  • and more.

Some of the prerequisites include:

  • knowledge of computer science
  • Python programming
  • inferential statistics
  • descriptive statistics

So, despite the title, in my view, this is not really for beginners.

What I like a lot is their approach to teaching the course. Each module is divided into many very short video lessons, each discussing a very specific topic. So, it gets very 'granular', if I can put it that way; added all together, there are more than 490 of these small videos that make up the course.

Atop of that, another favorite aspect for this course is that it's very interactive, requires your immediate input in almost all videos, and this makes the learning process much faster. Enough said, enroll if you think this is for you!


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing, I've been thinking about taking this course for a while but don't have enough experience yet, but I hope to someday soon.

I'm curious: How important do you think multivariable calculus is for machine learning compared to statistics and data analysis? I'm currently a college student and am trying to plan for a future in machine learning and have heard conflicting opinions on this.

depends on how deep you want to go with the level of understanding. in theory, you could do ML high level working only with top layers and APIs and you could do fine, but if you wanna know exactly what goes under the hood, Id say it's important...

Great, thanks so much for your input. I've been debating whether I should take multivariable calculus next semester but now I think I will! Should be fun regardless of how soon I get to apply it in practice. :)

Wow, thanks for sharing. This looks like a solid. Scrolled down the whole list and there's almost 500 videos.

yes, but most of them are sub 1 minute :)

Yes, I saw most aren't long. :-)

Good information @cristi, it serves us great help for those who dedicate ourselves to this of the programming.

A good and informative course. One of the best in it's category. And the certification which comes with it is also quite prestigious. Thank you 😊

Thanks for sharing . It is my dream to become an expert in this field.

awesome course thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66