I shall write a Minecraft mod. Day #9

in #programming7 years ago

Dear Diary,

Today I realized I did not need a Minecraft account to make a Minecraft mod.

I also started playing in a survival mode to know what else is needed to get going with the mod. The next step I decided to take was to get some bluestone to pick in the generated world. Gathering the bluestone would enable progressing to crafting a bluestone sword, then I would extend it to make an armour and some tools.

The sword is more powerful than the diamond sword (I used example values from the tutorial). Fergus suggested it should perhaps be much more powerful. I thought about it and would like to avoid having an easy all-powerful weapon. I thought it could be interesting if I introduced another item, a bluestone gem ore, craftable from bluestone and a diamond for instance, that could be used to make a bluestone sword, that could then have more power. Just to add more effort to get it. We'll see.

First, the generation.

I used the tutorial by Bedrock Miner. Only one method has become obsolete and finding the new one was not a problem. The code worked with a first try, the only problem I had was how to find the ore. I quickly found a smart idea by Jwosty on gaming.stackexchange.xom: print the coordinates to stdout and track the stone down. It was a bit awkward digging through and looking at my coordinates after pressing F3, and trying to get the idea of which coordinate I can change in which direction, but I managed to find it. I will leave the print for now to simplify the development. It may not be that needed that much as for now it looks like I just need to dig in and will find some bluestone every time.

I guess this leaves crafting for the next time.

You can see the outcome on github: https://github.com/breadcentric/fergusmod. I started tagging the state after each day of work with tag day_x.
Repo state after this work

Visit the tag #ishallwriteaminecraftmod to see the progress

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37