I shall write a Minecraft mod. Day #7

in #programming7 years ago

I am still on my own, but decided to continue working on this thing. Still don't know when Fergus will be allowed near the computer.

Things done today:

  • add a texture for a bluestone item - it is invisible in the inventory at the moment
  • find out how to visualise a bluestone item held in hand
  • add resources to have meaningful names

It turns out the item texture is used for an item lying around, item held in hand and a tile in inventory. Cool.
For a language file I struggled a bit, until I found out that they have to be all lowercase if the pack_format is set to 3 in pack.mcmeta. Thank you Choonster from http://www.minecraftforum.net.

I have chatted to Fergus a bit as he was trying to tell me the bluestone should not be a block. When I asked if it should be an item, he said "no". I think we understand each other now. He gave an example of iron. Iron is an item, but has no corresponding block. One can throw it away and it levitates until it's gathered by someone. He called it a resource, which was a problem to me as I understood a resource as a content file in a mod structure. There aren't any resources as such. Now we understand each other: He did want an item without a block. The source of bluestone should perhaps be some ore or something. This has not been specified so for now we agreed it will be a block that can be gathered.

That's enough for today, it's been a long day and even longer one awaits tomorrow.

Things to try next:

  • find out how to craft things with a bluestone
  • refactor the string names by introducing a class with static Strings to use around the place. Hopefully it'll be more intuitive than copying the strings around the place
  • think more about how to gather bluestone

My ideas list:

  • introduce a fluent API to replace the json documents in Forge
  • bread mod - replace bread as it is with many varieties, add rye, sourdough, and a dough that would need to go into the furnace to get bread.

Visit the tag #ishallwriteaminecraftmod to see the progress

Sort:  

Do you have a github for the code?

Hey,
Not yet, sorry. Today I was away whole day so haven't really managed to do anything with it.
I'll see what I can do tomorrow and maybe I will create a repository for it. Sadly I was too lazy with the first stuff so I just created a bulk commit, but now it's being versioned, so should be fine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98