I shall write a Minecraft mod. Day #6

in #programming7 years ago

Oh that rascal. Fergus talked back to his Grandmother. No one talks back to his Grandmother. I'm not sure if he's banned from accessing the computer permanently or for a couple days only. I'll need to clarify that.

We went hiking in the mountain today, so not much access to the computer anyway. Instead of programming, I decided to add a texture. Nothing special, just some ugly thing. To do that, I have created a texture - a 16x16 png with a pattern.

Apart from that I installed git-scm and cleaned up some example content. For now I decided to keep everything in a single package. I will clean it up later, for now it would feel like overengineering. I have noticed that IntelliJ keeps updating string values. I think I had disabled renaming in strings and have a feeling they got renamed anyway. Will need to look at this. IntelliJ is trying to be too smart.

Things to try tomorrow:

  • add a texture for a bluestone item - it is invisible in the inventory at the moment
  • find out how to visualise a bluestone item held in hand
  • find out how to craft things with a bluestone
  • add resources to have meaningful names
  • refactor the string names by introducing a class with static Strings to use around the place. Hopefully it'll be more intuitive than copying the strings around the place.

I've decided to start an ideas list. I'm not sure if I will be doing anything with it, but decided to assemble one. Since I paid for Minecraft already, why would I not add to it?

My ideas list:

  • introduce a fluent API to replace the json documents in Forge
  • bread mod - replace bread as it is with many varieties, add rye, sourdough, and a dough that would need to go into the furnace to get bread.

Visit the tag #ishallwriteaminecraftmod to see the progress

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31