I shall write a Minecraft mod. Day #5

in #programming7 years ago

I have started working with Forge. It brings memories of working with some of the cool libraries. I always wondered what people talk about in their studios:

- Hey, guys, look at this: you can put an annotation on this field and have some code initialize it based on matching of labels on the field's class to a concatenation of those labels with different delimiters. How awesome is that!
- Wowzah! Let's do it, but let's put part of the config in a set json files placed in a structure not matching either of those labels.
- Looks like we have a plan for improvement here!

Yes, I know: It has been thought through very well and I am an ignorant trying to use it the way I would like it to work.

Today we decided with Fergus to try and make the first block. We had to clarify the definitions of a resource, block and an item which went reasonably well. I went to the https://wiki.mcjty.eu to learn the basics and quickly let Fergus go to spare him some boring staring at me doing the reading and copy-pastes. I gave up shortly after.

In the evening I got back to this and spent an hour understanding why I would need blockstates or models in my resources if they were not mentioned in the tutorial. I know, high expectations of tutorials explaining everything.

Why sometimes there is a dot and sometimes a colon? Why do I need to provide empty jsons? Is there a way around it?

If I want empty jsons, I probably shouldn't be making a mod in the first place. I guess jsons are a way around no fluent API for configuring things. Just an idea to simplify the whole configuration thing. I'll think about it and maybe contribute to the Forge project.

I'm getting too technical here. After 90 minutes I added an ugly, useless block:

It does nothing, it has no extra properties or textures.

See the tag #ishallwriteaminecraftmod to see the progress

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72