Learning Ruby

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

Today I decided to take some time to learn Ruby coding language on Codecademy. It is a lot easier than I thought. Well, it is a beginner's guide but I was a bit intimidated since I hadn't written any code in Ruby but overall I'm learning.

ruby.png

So far I'm up to Looping. This part was a little confusing but after a while, I got the hang of it a little bit.

ruby3.png

I plan to learn other programming languages as well but in the future, I hope to be able to utilize what I learn and develop something for the Steem community like those that have already. I do have future projects planned but it may take me some time since I do not have the proper resources but I am determined to get something together.

Code

3.times {print "STEEM! "}

Output

STEEM! STEEM! STEEM! 😛

About Ruby

Created by Yukihiro “Matz” Matsumoto, he took some of his favorite languages(Perl, Smalltalk, Eiffel, Ada, and Lisp) to form Ruby.

Matsumoto has often said he is:

“trying to make Ruby natural, not simple,” in a way that mirrors life.

Ruby is simple in appearance, but is very complex inside, just like our human body.

Released in 1995, only recently reached mass acceptance in 2006 and is in the top 10 on most of the indices that measure the growth and popularity of programming languages worldwide.

Ruby is free to use, copy, modify, and distribute.



Source: https://www.ruby-lang.org
Image Source


Thank you for taking the time to read my post.
Feel free to follow and find me in Smart Media Group on Discord.

Follow SMG on other social media platforms and let's Tokenize The Web!

Twitter: @the_smartmedia

Instagram: @the_smartmedia

Sort:  

One great thing about Ruby is that the community is very test oriented. There are lots of good open source projects that have great test coverage. Take a look at some on Github and you can learn a lot from them.

Yes, I hear lots of good things about it. Thanks for the tip. I appreciate the help.

Thanks for a few words about Ruby. I've heard good things about it from my cousin who has done some coding in it. I appreciate this bit of added insight.

Good luck as you study it. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Yes, I like what I hear and see from it so I figured I would try and learn it.

Thank you :)

If you get to the point where you're able to interact with the Steemit blockchain, I'd love to learn what all is involved in doing that... The whole nine yards of an IDE or other programming environment. ;)

Hehe, that will be a while but hopefully, I can get some tips from a programmer.

I am going to try too

thanks for sharing your expertness

I'm no expert but thanks for the comment :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bitcoinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Hello! Your post has been resteemed and upvoted by @ilovecoding because we love coding! Keep up good work! Consider upvoting this comment to support the @ilovecoding and increase your future rewards! ^_^ Steem On!

Reply !stop to disable the comment. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78