Udemy: Is it worth it?

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

This is my review of the online course site: Udemy

My Experience

Like my username suggests I like to learn things, so last month I tried to use Udemy to pick up some new skills. Udemy is an online course where users can take and create courses that range from $200 to Free. They have a wide range of courses from test preparation to web development. So I bought four courses: two for an IT certification, one for web development, and one for machine learning with python and R. So far I have completed one course on IT and I am part way through a course on web development. Courses in udemy are mainly video lectures with some notes and maybe a quiz at the end and so far they have helped me and taught me a lot.


Is it worth it?

I have learned a lot of new things through the video lectures I have watched and I definitely want to continue to learn with Udemy. I think Udemy is worth it when you buy the courses on sale. I bought four course for a total of $40 dollars, because each course was on sale for $10 each. You may wonder "Why not just find tutorial videos on Youtube?, thats free." To answer this, Youtube is a great resource for learning things but Udemy courses are written buy experts and are very complete and reviewed. I remember one time I was watching a video series on youtube about IOS development and it just stopped after a while and was left uncompleted. On Udemy, courses have all of the information you need in one place. Also, by buying a course, even if it's only a few dollars it forces you to want to complete it so you know you haven't wasted your money. On Youtube you might just stop and never actually finish a tutorial series.

So many sales!

Udemy is constantly having sales, so I advise you to never buy a course at full price, because if you wait a few days it will probably be on sale for $10 to $15 dollars.

Thanks for reading. Please follow me and upvote and resteem this post if you liked it.

if you would like to leave me a tip in bitcoin at this address
13t1CDDy22z6DZif3ZGsAgXeHDuMfV3xFg
I would greatly appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42