You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to get started with programming

in #programming8 years ago

My suggestion is not using a textbook (was too boring for me).
I always used video tutorials, trying to do what was on video on my own code.

It's also very useful to start with a simple project in mind and try to create it using already existing pieces of code. :)

Sort:  

Starting small is indeed very good advice. Using existing code is also helpful, though I discourage copying and pasting it - you learn better by typing every line out yourself.

I've always tried video tutorials, still have some saved up from when I started thinking about programming, 10-12 years ago, yet sometimes not being actively engaged, and just passively watching it, makes me fall asleep :D
A book might help as you constantly need to turn pages ;)

What you should do is watching the video tutorial and, at the same time, writing code on your text editor.
I don't recommend watching video passively, it will give you too many info and you will forget them or get very bored :)

That is true and I think I've given up on many tutorials because they had long introductions and actual coding was done after.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53