Sort:  

My programming skills were completely self taught. I attended 2 years of college and dozen or so employer provided training. I learned the hard way that if you look over a program and have trouble figuring out what it does, then there are not enough comments.

Guess I'm going down your footsteps. I, as well, only went to college for 2 years, and am self-taught. Getting a job kind of was more important. But I must've gone through hundreds and hundreds of hours of online courses. I'm actually enrolled in three courses at the moment. Two of which I need for work. Education is never-ending for us programmers. That's why I tend to share my knowledge. Would you ever be interested in speaking at a meetup, about your life story and the way you became a programmer? I host a small study group in my town, and the guys and girls would love to hear something inspiring. Especially from someone of your calibre. :)

At 73 I have Parkinsons and can't do as much as I would like. What city/timezone is your meeting and how did you envision my participation? How long would the talk last and what specifically would you/they want to hear? Programming techniques/career summary/messing around in memory of disk file structure/assembly language exploits are examples.

Awesome that you're already listing interesting topics! Any of those would be great. Whatever you feel most comfortable with, and what you believe newcomers to programming would benefit from hearing.

But of course, I also wouldn't want to be a nuisance to you, and your free time. The length of the talk is totally up to you, it does not at all need to be strenuous for you, 20-30 minutes is some rough outline we usually go by. My timezone is CEST which equals GMT+2, hope that's not too far away from yours. A simple Skype call or Hangouts call would more than suffice. I can organize a quiet enough classroom for everybody to hear you just fine.

Please send me a message through the Steemit chat so we can talk some more! My user name over there is also: adnanrahic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60732.06
ETH 2345.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46